Higher Education in Ethiopia: Setting Course for the Future

Ethiopia is developing capacity in its higher education sector. With a view to raising educational levels, the Ethiopian Government has founded 34 new universities over the last 15 years. The aim is to boost the Ethiopian economy. Universities now need highly qualified teaching and managerial staff to manage university activities. AIZ is contributing its expertise in the area of strategic human capacity development.

1. Background

GIZ and AIZ are supporting the reform process in Ethiopian university education on behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development. This calls for competent, motivated staff at universities and in state authorities in order to establish a properly functioning, high-quality university landscape in the long term. Much importance is therefore attached to developing the capacities of various groups of people. AIZ provides this capacity development.

2. The role of AIZ

AIZ has already held four further training sequences on the topic of Leadership und Management in Higher Education, aimed at teaching and specialist staff at various hierarchical levels in the Ethiopian university system. Each of the four sequences included a preparatory workshop in Ethiopia, a two-week seminar combined with professional peer-to-peer exchange at universities in Germany and the Netherlands, transfer support though coaching, and a follow-up workshop in Ethiopia.

3. Results

80 university presidents and vice-presidents, deans, research directors and representatives of university bodies for quality management convened in AIZ workshops to develop more in-depth expertise in leadership und management. One participant from Addis Ababa University summed up the experience: ‘I’ve learned how to deal with other people as a manager, and have learned about various styles of management. What’s more, I now have a clear idea of what quality assurance means.’

Äthiopien © GIZ / Steffi Noelting © GIZ / Steffi Noelting

Hochschulbildung in Äthiopien: Der Kurs in die Zukunft

Äthiopien baut seine Hochschulkapazitäten auf: In den vergangenen 15 Jahren hat seine Regierung 34 neue Universitäten gegründet, um das Bildungsniveau des ostafrikanischen Landes zu steigern. Das soll die äthiopische Wirtschaft voranbringen. Die Hochschulen brauchen nun hochqualifizierte Lehr- und Führungskräfte, die den Universitätsbetrieb steuern. Die Akademie für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (AIZ) bringt dabei ihr Know-how im Bereich der strategischen Kompetenzentwicklung (Human Capacity Development) ein.

1. Worum geht es genau?

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) und ihre Akademie unterstützen den Reformprozess der äthiopischen Hochschulbildung im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ). Der Reformprozess fordert fachkundige und motivierte Mitarbeiter an Universitäten wie auch in den staatlichen Behörden, um langfristig eine funktionierende und hochwertige Hochschullandschaft etablieren zu können. Viel Bedeutung kommt daher der Kompetenzentwicklung unterschiedlicher Personengruppen zu, die die AIZ übernimmt.

2. Was hat die Akademie dabei getan?

Die AIZ hat vier Weiterbildungssequenzen im Bereich "Leadership und Management in der Hochschulbildung" durchgeführt, die an Lehr- und Fachkräfte auf unterschiedlichen Hierarchieebenen in den äthiopischen Hochschulen adressiert waren. Jede der vier Sequenzen enthielt einen Vorbereitungsworkshop in Äthiopien, ein zweiwöchiges Seminar in Kombination mit fachlichem Austausch mit Kollegen an Universitäten in Deutschland, den Niederlanden, Transferunterstützung durch Coachings sowie einen Folgeworkshop in Äthiopien.

3. Was wurde erreicht?

80 Hochschulpräsidenten und Vizepräsidenten, Dekane, Forschungsdirektoren und Vertreter von Universitätsbehörden zur Qualitätssicherung erarbeiteten sich in AIZ-Workshops vertiefte Kompetenzen in Leadership und Management. Ein Teilnehmer von der Addis Ababa Universität resümierte: „Ich habe gelernt, wie ich als Führungskraft mit anderen Menschen umgehe und ich habe verschiedene Führungsstile kennengelernt. Außerdem habe ich nun eine klare Vorstellung davon, was Qualitätssicherung bedeutet.“