Intercultural Competence

Turning Differences into Shared Success

Showing respect and dignity in intercultural contexts is the key to success in international cooperation. Respectful cooperation creates the best basis for projects initiated in partnership to achieve a lasting impact. In order to acquire – or maintain – an open attitude towards people from different backgrounds, it is useful to have one skillset that can be learned: intercultural competence.

For this reason, intercultural competence is a key part of our programme of preparation for working in international cooperation. We will work with you to develop diversity skills. Although this may sound rather vague, our approach is entirely practical: our training courses involve real-life examples of situations that are interculturally challenging. You will acquire greater awareness of yourself and those around you and learn not to see difference as an obstacle but as an opportunity and a source of new ideas and solutions.

Intercultural competence training courses are offered as face-to-face events. In addition, participants can take advantage of AIZ coaching services once they arrive in a partner country.

What exactly is intercultural competence?

Intercultural competence means the ability to deal constructively with people from different backgrounds and to cooperate with them successfully and independently. Of fundamental importance here is the fact that people’s identity is not determined merely by their origins in a given country, but by a number of different ‘cultures’ and characteristics (e.g. gender, education and profession, age, place of birth and of residence, nationality (or nationalities) of parents, political leanings, sexual orientation etc.). Intercultural competence means being sensitive to others’ views and value systems, while being aware of one’s own cultural context – and retaining the ability to reflect on it in a critical manner.

Why is intercultural competence important?

As well as the huge number of positive impressions they encounter, people who live and work abroad can find themselves in situations that spawn frustration and disappointment, when they come up against the limits of mutual understanding with people from a partner country. This can include culture shock, as one sufferer reports in the short video available in the link below. Intercultural competence helps us to recognise and overcome such obstacles more easily and to tap into the benefits offered by diversity.

What role does intercultural competence play in international cooperation?

It is important in international cooperation to respond with cultural sensitivity. Firstly, so that we can ascertain partners’ expectations and thus initiate appropriate measures. And secondly, in order to ensure that shared projects are implemented effectively. Mutual respect and a readiness to question one’s own value system are a prerequisite for building stable partnerships and for developing new ideas and solutions together. Those who are able to demonstrate cultural sensitivity will minimise potential difficulties during a foreign assignment or in connection with cooperation in international teams.

Capture

‘Intercultural competence is an extremely important topic. It is the foundation of project work (…) and determines whether a project will succeed or fail. For specialist staff it is more important than specialist competence.’ (From the questionnaire submitted by a participant in AIZ’s Preparation for International Assignment course, conducted in 2016, six months after the participant’s arrival in a partner country).

Can intercultural competence be acquired?

Our training courses don’t focus on the ‘dos and don’ts’ of correct behaviour in other cultural contexts. We provide a toolbox that helps course participants to deal with irritations and obstacles and to see these as opportunities. That means they are able to maintain the ability to respond appropriately and continue acting constructively in unfamiliar and ‘ambiguous’ situations.  
Our range of services focuses on acquiring a personal mindset which provides a point of orientation when faced with very unfamiliar challenges. After all, an open mind and readiness to embrace difference are essential if you are to work with others to develop something new.

 

The English programme 2019 will be available soon.

Downloads

Grafik © GIZ / Marcel Keller / Gabi Kratochwill © GIZ / Marcel Keller / Gabi Kratochwill

Interkulturelle Kompetenz

wenn aus Unterschieden gemeinsame Erfolge werden sollen

Wer in interkulturellen Kontexten respektvoll und souverän auftritt, hat den Schlüssel zum Erfolg in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit. Denn eine wertschätzende Kooperation schafft die besten Voraussetzungen dafür, dass gemeinsam angestoßene Projekte nachhaltig wirken können. Um sich eine aufgeschlossene Haltung gegenüber Menschen verschiedener Herkunft anzueignen - oder zu bewahren -, hilft einem eine Fähigkeit, die man erlernen kann: interkulturelle Kompetenz.

Daher ist interkulturelle Kompetenz ein wichtiger Teil unseres Angebots zur Vorbereitung auf eine Tätigkeit in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit. Dabei erarbeiten wir mit Ihnen Diversitätskompetenz. Das klingt etwas sperrig, aber wir gehen das ganz praktisch an: In unseren Trainings arbeiten wir mit realen Beispielen für interkulturell herausfordernde Situationen. Sie lernen dabei das Eigene und das Andere bewusster wahrzunehmen und Verschiedenheit nicht als Hindernis, sondern als Chance und Ressource für neue Ideen und Lösungen anzusehen.

Die Trainings zur interkulturellen Kompetenz bieten wir als Präsenzveranstaltungen an. Zusätzlich können Teilnehmer auf Wunsch nach ihrer Ausreise ein AIZ-Coaching in Anspruch nehmen.

Interkulturelle Kompetenz – was bedeutet das genau?

Interkulturelle Kompetenz ist die Fähigkeit mit Menschen, die über andere kulturelle Hintergründe verfügen, konstruktiv umzugehen und erfolgreich und selbstverantwortlich mit ihnen zusammenzuarbeiten. Dabei gilt: Die Identität eines Menschen wird nicht nur von der Herkunft aus einem Land bestimmt, sondern auch durch vielerlei andere „Kulturen“ und Merkmale (z.B. Geschlecht, Ausbildung und Beruf, Alter, Herkunfts- und Wohnort, Nationalität(en) der Eltern, politische Ausrichtung, sexuelle Orientierung usw.). Interkulturelle Kompetenz zu besitzen heißt, sensibel für andere Wahrnehmungen und Wertesysteme zu sein, ein Bewusstsein über den eigenen kulturellen Kontext zu haben - und diesen kritisch zu reflektieren.

Warum ist interkulturelle Kompetenz wichtig?

Menschen, die im Ausland leben und arbeiten, erleben neben einer Fülle neuer positiver Eindrücke auch Situationen, in denen es zu Frustration und Enttäuschung kommen kann, weil das gegenseitige Verständnis mit den Menschen aus dem Partnerland an Grenzen stößt. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel Kulturschock-Erlebnisse, von denen eine Betroffene im unten verlinkten Kurzvideo berichtet. Interkulturelle Kompetenz hilft, solche Hindernisse leichter zu erkennen und zu überwinden und aus der Vielfalt einen Nutzen zu ziehen.

Welche Rolle spielt interkulturelle Kompetenz in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit?

In der internationalen Zusammenarbeit ist es wichtig, kulturell sensibel zu agieren. Einerseits, um die Erwartungen der Partner wahrnehmen zu können und so die richtigen Maßnahmen auf den Weg zu bringen. Andererseits, um die gemeinsamen Projekte effektiv durchführen zu können. Gegenseitiger Respekt und die Bereitschaft, eigene Wertemuster in Frage zu stellen, sind die Voraussetzungen für das Entstehen stabiler Partnerschaften und für das gemeinsame Entwickeln neuer Ideen und Lösungen. Wer sich kulturell sensibel verhält, minimiert mögliche Schwierigkeiten während eines Auslandseinsatzes oder bei der Zusammenarbeit in internationalen Teams.

Grafik  © GIZ / Marcel Keller / Gabi Kratochwill

„Interkulturelle Kompetenz ist ein extrem wichtiges Thema, das das Fundament darstellt (…) und über Erfolg oder Scheitern des Projektes bestimmt. Sie ist für das Fachpersonal wichtiger als die fachliche Kompetenz“ (ein Teilnehmer der AIZ-Ausreisevorbereitung, 2016).

Kann man interkulturelle Kompetenz lernen?

In unseren Trainings geht es nicht um „Dos and Don‘ts“ für korrektes Verhalten in anderen kulturellen Kontexten. Wir geben unseren Teilnehmern einen „Werkzeugkasten“ an die Hand, der ihnen hilft, mit Irritationen und Hindernissen umzugehen und diese als Chance zu begreifen. Damit können sie auch in unbekannten und uneindeutigen Situationen handlungsfähig bleiben und weiter gestaltend wirken.  

Im Fokus unseres Angebots steht die persönliche Haltung, an der Sie sich auch in völlig neuen Herausforderungen orientieren können. Denn Offenheit und Bereitschaft zum wertschätzenden Umgang mit Unterschieden sind essentiell, um gemeinsam mit anderen Menschen Neues zu entwickeln.