Public relations traineeship

Are you looking for a traineeship in public relations? You’ve come to the right place! Read on to find out what we offer and how you can apply.

The traineeship 

You will be supporting GIZ’s Corporate Communications Unit. The role of Corporate Communications is to successfully present the company, its services and achievements, and its core principles and values to both an internal and external audience. The Unit also produces GIZ’s communications strategy. It uses press and PR tools to position GIZ externally and provide information about our work and approach. Using internal communications tools, it makes information available within the organisation and helps staff identify with the company.

The PR traineeship will last 24 months and will give you the opportunity to learn about the different facets of Corporate Communications’ work. This includes journalistic activities, such as writing articles for the staff magazine, drafting press releases and putting together texts for online media and publications. You will carry out research, answer questions from journalists and help design communications strategies. You will be involved in planning and organising events and producing content for internal and external media. In addition, you will find out how we ensure that the company presents one face to the world. The traineeship is based in Eschborn, but you will also be able to learn about GIZ’s work in Bonn and Brussels. In addition, the programme includes a two-month placement in a project in one of our partner countries, where you will support the communications activities. During the traineeship you will become a qualified PR advisor. You will attend training seminars organised by the Deutsche Akademie für Public Relations, a recognised assessment institution for the PR sector. To complete your PR training, you will obtain a qualification in PR advisory services from the Prüfungs- und Zertifizierungsorganisation der deutschen Kommunikationswirtschaft (Assessment and certification organisation for the German communications sector). GIZ will cover the costs of the course and the examination. The trainee salary is currently EUR 1,900 a month. 

Requirements 

You have a humanities or business science degree and have acquired initial experience in communications work in a company, for an agency or in the media.  You are interested in development cooperation and have ideally already gained some insights into this field. You are also keen to learn about new topics. We are looking for a German native speaker with an excellent feeling for language and a talent for writing and editing texts.  

How can I apply?

PR traineeship vacancies will be posted on the GIZ job opportunities page. Please note that you can only apply online. We expect to advertise another vacancy in mid-2017.

Public Relations Volontariat

Sie würden gerne ein Volontariat im Bereich Public Relations absolvieren? Die GIZ bietet Ihnen diese Möglichkeit. Lesen Sie nachfolgend, was Sie bei uns erwartet und wie Sie sich bewerben können.

Volontariat

Sie unterstützen die Stabsstelle Unternehmenskommunikation der GIZ. Aufgabe der Unternehmenskommunikation ist es, das Unternehmen GIZ, seine Leistungen und Erfolge sowie die Prinzipien und Werte, an denen sich die GIZ orientiert, nach innen und außen überzeugend zu vermitteln. Die Unternehmenskommunikation gestaltet die Kommunikationsstrategie der GIZ. Mit Instrumenten der Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit positioniert sie die GIZ nach außen und informiert über ihre Arbeit und Arbeitsweise; mit Instrumenten der internen Kommunikation informiert sie nach innen und trägt zur Identifikation der Mitarbeiter/innen mit der GIZ bei.

Während Ihrer 24-monatigen Ausbildung als Public Relations Volontär/in lernen Sie die verschiedenen Bereiche der Unternehmenskommunikation kennen. Dazu zählen redaktionelle Tätigkeiten wie die Erstellung von Artikeln für die Mitarbeiterzeitung, von Pressemeldungen oder von Texten für Online-Medien und Publikationen. Sie recherchieren, bearbeiten Journalistenanfragen und arbeiten an Kommunikationskonzepten mit. Sie unterstützen die Planung und Organisation von Veranstaltungen und wirken bei der Produktion interner und externer Medien mit. Sie lernen zudem die Fragestellungen eines einheitlichen Unternehmensauftrittes nach außen kennen. Die Ausbildung erfolgt in Eschborn. Zusätzlich lernen Sie die Arbeit der GIZ an den Standorten Bonn und Berlin kennen. Außerdem haben Sie die Möglichkeit, ein Vorhaben in einem unserer Partnerländer während eines zweimonatigen Einsatzes kommunikativ zu unterstützen. Im Rahmen des Volontariats qualifizieren Sie sich zum/zur PR-Berater/in. Hierzu nehmen Sie an den Vorbereitungsseminaren einer anerkannten Prüfungsinstitution für die PR-Branche teil und schließen ihre PR-Ausbildung mit einem zertifizierten Abschluss als PR-Berater/in ab. Die Kurs- und Prüfungskosten übernimmt die GIZ. Die Ausbildungsvergütung beträgt zur Zeit monatlich 2.200 Euro.

Anforderungen

Voraussetzung für Ihr Bewerbung ist ein erfolgreich abgeschlossenes Hochschulstudium in Geistes- oder Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Außerdem haben Sie bereits erste praktische Erfahrungen im Kommunikationsbereich auf Agentur-, Unternehmens- oder Medienseite gesammelt. Sie interessieren sich für die Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und haben idealerweise schon Einblicke in das Themenfeld gewonnen. Ein sicheres Sprachgefühl, die Affinität zum Texten und die Bereitschaft, sich in neue Themen einzuarbeiten, bringen Sie mit.

Wie kann ich mich bewerben?

Die Volontariate werden im Stellenmarkt der GIZ ausgeschrieben. Sie können sich ausschließlich online bewerben. Wir werden voraussichtlich Mitte 2017 wieder eine Stelle ausschreiben.