What development workers say about the Development Service

What motivates development workers to take up an assignment in a partner country? What did they do to prepare for their assignment? What experience did they gain in the partner country? Read on to find out more.

MORE CLOSE

Interview with Katrin Hermsen (National Women Commission, Nepal)

Content related image
Katrin Hermsen

What is your professional background?
I have a Master’s degree in comparative social studies, a German ‘Diplom’ (equivalent to a Master’s degree) in social work and am a fully trained and state-approved social care worker.

What is your job as a development worker?
I advise Nepal’s National Women Commission on results-based planning and monitoring, as well as communication, knowledge management and team building.

Why did you decide to become a GIZ development worker?
I think that development worker assignments are really interesting because they combine specialist knowledge and practical experience with intercultural challenges. And of course there’s the chance to work with a partner organisation every day, to ensure an exchange of views among specialists and to deliver advisory services, which I find attractive from both a professional and a personal point of view. I’ve always been interested in international cooperation and human rights as well.

Tell us about a typical working day.
It’s not that easy to describe a typical working day. When I arrive at the National Women Commission in the morning, the first thing I do is to talk to my colleagues. A morning discussion always marks the start of our working day, and offers an informal forum for sharing information. Then it’s time to start providing advisory services, and this can take a wide variety of forms. With more than 40 staff, there are lots of very different issues to tackle, and individual employees often come and consult me. I also use the contact with individual employees to provide targeted advice. So my working day generally consists of meetings with individual colleagues and with the entire workforce, holding workshops or providing advice on preparing monitoring documents. I often accompany the Women Commission on monitoring visits to different districts of Nepal. And I’m frequently asked to support the Commission at meetings with members of the government or non-governmental organisations, and to advise them accordingly. Business trips and meetings sometimes crop up at very short notice. I also believe it’s important to maintain contact with GIZ’s country office in Kathmandu. That means I also have things to do for GIZ Nepal, such as giving an introduction on gender to new development workers. Obviously I also work at the computer, develop ideas, comment on documents, and write and answer emails. It’s anything but boring!

How do you find working for GIZ’s Development Service?
As a development worker I have the chance to use my technical expertise and intercultural skills on a massive scale. I face challenges and pose challenges so that I can give the partner organisation the best possible advisory services. In my work I’m in constant touch with people and I see time and time again how important it is to find a common basis for communication. There are a huge number of linguistic, cultural and technical challenges. To put it in a nutshell – I love my work!

What has been your most important experience as a development worker?
Communication skills are the key to good advisory services. This means both the ability to speak the local language and the ability to retain a balance between culturally appropriate communication and challenging communication with a view to triggering change. Technical expertise can then be built on the foundations of communication.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to work for GIZ’s Development Service as a development worker?
If you’re going to enjoy your work and encourage change, it really helps if – in addition to having the requisite technical expertise – you’re highly motivated, speak the language, and are interested in the local culture. You’ll also have to cope with frustration sooner or later. My advice then would be to take a realistic look at yourself first, and see if this is right for you.

MORE CLOSE

Interview with René Rösler (financial systems development, Laos)

Content related image
René Rösler

What is your professional background?
I’m a fully trained bank clerk and I also studied business administration and economics with a special focus on international development cooperation.

What is your job as a development worker?
I work in the microfinance sector and support the establishment of village banks as well as an umbrella organisation for village banks. In Laos I work with the partner organisation both at local level and at provincial level. Our project is pursuing a multi-level approach (micro, meso and macro levels), which means we have to consult closely with the national level project management.

Why did you decide to become a GIZ development worker?
I think that the challenges of development cooperation in partner countries can only be effectively mastered if the needs at local level are fully understood and taken into account. As a development worker on the ground I play an important part in ensuring that this is the case. That’s why I find the job so important and the work and interaction with local colleagues at this level incredibly exciting and enriching.

Tell us about a typical working day.
I can break down my working day roughly into three main priorities. At local level my work involves regular visits to the village banks where I support and advise the national experts. I always seek direct contact with the village bank committees, which are made up only of villagers, who have other day jobs, for example as farmers. In addition to delivering advisory services, I get to know the day-to-day challenges faced by village banks. The second priority area of my work is advising the umbrella organisation of village banks, which represents the interests of village banks at regional level and also aims to improve the quality of the individual village banks. The third part of my work involves close cooperation with national level project management. Since GIZ is supporting the village bank approach in several provinces of Laos, regular exchange helps us to get to grips with more complex development issues together, and enables us to learn from one another.

How do you find working for GIZ’s Development Service?
My experience to date has been very positive, thanks primarily to the excellent cooperation with my partner organisation. The contribution development workers make is very much appreciated here.


What has been your most important experience as a development worker?
I’ve seen first-hand that, in order to achieve good development cooperation, there must be a knowledge transfer from local to national level. Since development is an ongoing process, it’s not enough to use one-off impressions or past experience as the basis for national programmes and strategies, since these would not truly mirror the needs of the actual target group.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to work for GIZ’s Development Service as a development worker?
Without at least a rudimentary knowledge of the national language I wouldn’t be able to understand or interpret many processes and important cultural subtleties. That’s why a high level of cultural sensitivity is so important. In addition to the many technical and social competencies that today’s development worker is expected to have, a bit of serenity and balance helps me cope with the day-to-day challenges under working conditions that aren’t always easy. A development worker should also be genuinely convinced of the worth and validity of the project concept.

MORE CLOSE

Interview with Winfried Scheewe (organic agriculture, Cambodia)

Content related image
Winfried Scheewe

What is your professional background?
I’m an agricultural engineer, but I also completed a commercial apprenticeship.

What is your job as a development worker?
Since October 2010 I’ve been advising the Cambodian Organic Agriculture Association (COrAA), an association of cooperatives, small businesses, farmers and non-governmental organisations working to promote organic agriculture in Cambodia.

Why did you decide to become a GIZ development worker?
It was the chance to become involved in the field of rural development that made up my mind.

Tell us about a typical working day.
Since the partner organisation has relatively few employees, I spend some of my working time communicating with members, but also with other interested groups and individuals, generally by email. In addition, I advise colleagues and board members on their numerous and very diverse activities. Sometimes I accompany colleagues when they visit members in rural areas.

How do you find working for GIZ’s Development Service?
I had previously worked for a smaller seconding organisation, but I see the advantages of a larger organisation, which can provide direct support to development workers in partner countries if required.

What has been your most important experience as a development worker?
My work is very varied and frequently takes unexpected turns, which then lead to new activities that were not originally planned. I’m constantly having to acquire new knowledge.


What advice would you give to someone who wants to work for GIZ’s Development Service as a development worker?
It is, of course, important to be well prepared in technical terms and in terms of advisory methods, but it’s at least as important to be patient and flexible so that you can respond to unforeseen developments and requirements.

MORE CLOSE

Interview with Stefanie Simon (economic promotion, Ghana)

Content related image
Stefanie Simon

What is your professional background?
I’m a consultant by profession, and am currently employed as a development worker for a chamber of commerce in Ghana’s Western Region.

What is your job as a development worker?
I support my partner organisation across the board – from simple processes in the office to appointments with other organisations and delegations, to large-scale projects such as international conferences and new services for member companies. That’s why I find the term ‘development worker’ a bit of a misnomer. What I really do is advise.

Why did you decide to become a GIZ development worker?
The project sounded fascinating, the country sounded exciting and I wanted to try out something new and different. Having worked in the private sector in Germany for a few years, I wanted to broaden my horizons and go well beyond my own comfort zone.

Tell us about a typical working day.
For me, there’s no such thing. My day depends on my ‘client’ (my partner organisation) and its day depends on its clients (the member companies). I’m involved in many day-to-day processes though, including the weekly meeting to set the ‘to do’ agenda, smaller tutorials that I give for the whole staff, project meetings, etc. These are rarely planned in advance, however. They tend to take place spontaneously. Even meetings outside the organisation are only rarely planned. All in all then, my working day is fairly unpredictable. When the power and the internet cut off suddenly, there’s not a lot more I can do. It helps to be prepared for all eventualities and to take things as they come.

How do you find working for GIZ’s Development Service?
GIZ offers an attractive package which gives development workers good coverage. In Ghana a great many precautions and steps are taken to ensure everything runs smoothly. Nevertheless, development workers in partner countries have to fend for themselves. That has advantages; you are independent and responsible for what you do. But it also has a downside, especially in terms of feedback. You have to realise that there’s nobody here looking over your shoulder and telling you what’s right or wrong. You can only see what was right or wrong from the way others react.

What has been your most important experience as a development worker?
It’s not very helpful to show somebody exactly how to do something. What is valuable is giving them the opportunity to find out for themselves. That sometimes means letting things go wrong. And I’ve realised that some cultural values are very deeply rooted. In my case, punctuality. And for that I’m definitely in the wrong country, but I’m learning a lot about patience.


What advice would you give to someone who wants to work for GIZ’s Development Service as a development worker?
It’s not an easy decision to sign up as a development worker, and it’s not easy to carry it through. You have to recognise your own limits, and be prepared to constantly go beyond them. But if you’re willing to do so, you can have a wonderful time, and learn a lot yourself.

MORE CLOSE

Interview with Lucia Fetzer (peace expert, Rwanda)

Content related image
Lucia Fetzer

What is your professional background?
I have an interdisciplinary background with a B.A. in cultural studies and an M.A. in European studies. I specialised in various conflict contexts (including Northern Ireland, Cyprus, Bosnia and Sri Lanka). These are also the countries where I gained work experience, mostly with civil society and state bodies involved in international cooperation.

What is your job as a peace expert?
I support the partner organisation IBUKA, which is a network for genocide survivors. Together we have initiated a project in Southern Province in which volunteers are trained in trauma management and conflict transformation. These volunteers then mediate within their own environments when conflicts arise and alleviate the symptoms of trauma that are often linked to these conflicts. In this way they help the reconciliation process in their own communities. I’ve been involved at every stage of project development, in planning, implementation and evaluation. I’ve also supported networking, initiated a regional exchange of experience via Civil Peace Service partners in Burundi, and advised IBUKA on organisational development issues, including fundraising and PR.

Why did you decide to work for GIZ as a peace expert?
The pivotal factor in my decision was my general interest in conflicts and inter-personal interaction. I was curious to see how people in other cultures deal with conflicts. As a peace expert I have the opportunity to explore this at grassroots level and to learn about others and about myself through intercultural exchange.

Tell us about a typical working day.
My working days vary enormously. Mostly I work in the office in the south of the country with the local expert. We discuss matters, document project activities and plan the next steps. Sometimes we are visited by volunteers who tell us about their progress and the challenges they are facing, or by other Rwandan civil society or state partners working in the same field. We often undertake field visits in the three districts in which we are working. Either we hold workshops which are attended by 30 of the total of 90 volunteers, or we visit individual volunteers and their ‘clients’ at their homes to investigate the peacebuilding impacts of our work and to listen to suggestions as to how it could be improved. About one third of my working time is spent in the main office of my partner organisation in Kigali, the capital city. Here I attend strategic meetings to strengthen IBUKA and help mainstream the knowledge on conflict transformation gained in the south within the organisation. I also support communication between IBUKA and GIZ. At regular meetings with other peace experts and partners of the Civil Peace Service, we refine the country programme together. And we’re stepping up cooperation between partner organisations.

How do you find working as a peace expert for the Civil Peace Service programme?
Exhausting and enriching! On the one hand, I’m very much responsible for what I do and have the opportunity to work closely with local partners and target groups, which gives me endless opportunities to make my own contributions and to help achieve results. It’s very satisfying to see the direct impacts of our work on the local population. On the other hand, processes are often sluggish and in some cases destructive. That makes it important to be able to distance yourself and to know just how much you can take. I see the Civil Peace Service programme as very much team-oriented though, and have received huge support and backing from within the programme.

What has been your most important experience as a peace expert?
I’m impressed by the strength, openness and willingness to learn demonstrated by people who have experienced incredible suffering. My role as peace expert gives me direct access to the stories of ordinary Rwandans’ everyday lives, and allows me to see the changes these people go through as a result of the empowerment process we have initiated. Seeing how genocide survivors, who until recently were having problems coming to terms with their own trauma symptoms, are now supporting others and helping them cope with the suffering they have gone through, or how they achieve reconciliation with perpetrators, is a very moving testimony to humanity and hope.

What advice would you give to someone who wants to work as a peace expert for GIZ’s Development Service under the Civil Peace Service programme?
If you’re going to work as a peace expert, it’s important that you enjoy intercultural communication, that you have the will to listen properly, and that you’re a good team player. Before you take the step you should take a long hard look at your own ability to cope with frustration and consider how flexible you really are, because few things actually work out on the ground as planned. It’s absolutely essential to have effective, tried-and-tested self-protection mechanisms.



Development Service Website

(in German)

Entwicklungshelfer über den Entwicklungsdienst

Was motiviert Entwicklungshelferinnen und Entwicklungshelfer, im Ausland Entwicklungsdienst zu leisten? Wie haben sie sich vorbereitet? Welche Erfahrungen konnten sie im Partnerland sammeln? – Dieses und vieles mehr erfahren Sie hier.

Interview mit Katrin Hermsen (Nationale Frauenkommission, Nepal)

Was sind Sie von Beruf?

Ich habe einen Master in Comparative Social Studies, ein Diplom in Sozialer Arbeit und habe eine Ausbildung zur staatlich anerkannten Heilerziehungspflegerin absolviert.

Was ist Ihre Aufgabe als EH?

Ich berate die Nationale Frauenkommission Nepals bezüglich ergebnisorientierter Planung und Monitoring, sowie Kommunikation, Wissensmanagement und Teambuilding.

Warum haben Sie sich dafür entschieden, für die GIZ als Entwicklungshelferin zu arbeiten?

Einsatzmöglichkeiten als Entwicklungshelferin sind für mich sehr interessant, da sie fachliches Wissen und praktische Erfahrung mit interkultureller Herausforderung vereinen. Auch die Möglichkeit mit einer Partnerorganisation alltäglich zusammen zu arbeiten, Austausch auf der Fachebene zu ermöglichen und Beratungsleistung zu betreiben, ist beruflich und persönlich äußerst attraktiv für mich. Ich habe mich darüber hinaus schon immer für den Bereich Internationale Kooperation als auch Menschenrechte interessiert.

Wie sieht Ihr typischer Arbeitstag aus?

Einen typischen Arbeitsalltag zu beschreiben, fällt mir gar nicht so leicht. Wenn ich morgens in die Frauenkommission komme, gehört es dazu, mich zunächst mit meinen Kollegen zu besprechen. Ein morgendliches Begrüßungsgespräch ist immer Teil des Arbeitsanfangs und dient auch dem informellen Informationsaustausch. Danach stehen Beratungsleistungen in vielfältiger Form an. Bei über 40 Mitarbeitern/innen gibt es vielfältige Anliegen, so dass ich oft von einzelnen Beschäftigten aufgesucht werde. Gleichzeitig nutze ich den Kontakt zu einzelnen, um gezielt beraten zu können. So besteht mein Arbeitsalltag aus Besprechungen mit einzelnen Kollegen/innen sowie der ganzen Mitarbeiterschaft, dem Durchführen von Workshops oder zum Beispiel der Beratung bei der Entwicklung von Dokumenten für das Monitoring. Nicht selten begleite ich die Frauenkommission bei Monitoring Besuchen in Distrikte Nepals. Darüber hinaus werde ich angefragt, die Kommission bei Meetings mit Regierungsmitgliedern oder Nichtregierungsorganisationen zu unterstützen und diesbezüglich zu beraten. Arbeitsfahrten sowie Meetings können sich äußert spontan ergeben. Außerdem ist es mir wichtig, an das GIZ Hauptbüro in Kathmandu angebunden zu sein. Daher stehen auch Aufgaben für die GIZ Nepal an, wie zum Beispiel eine Einführung in das Thema Gender für neue Entwicklungshelfer/innen. Natürlich arbeite ich auch am Computer, entwickle Ideen, kommentiere Dokumente, schreibe und beantworte Emails. Es wird definitiv nicht schnell eintönig!

Wie ist es, als Entwicklungshelferin für den Entwicklungsdienst der GIZ zu arbeiten?

Als Entwicklungshelferin habe ich die Chance, in großem Umfang meine fachlichen und interkulturellen Kenntnisse einzubringen. Ich werde herausgefordert und fordere heraus, um die Partnerorganisation bestmöglich zu beraten. In meiner Arbeit stehe ich in ständigem Austausch mit Menschen und merke immer wieder, wie wichtig es ist, eine gemeinsame Kommunikationsbasis zu finden. Es gibt sehr viele Herausforderungen, seien es sprachliche, kulturelle oder fachliche. Zusammen gefasst: Ich gehe sehr gerne zur Arbeit!

Was ist Ihre wichtigste Erfahrung, seit Sie als Entwicklungshelferin arbeiten?

Geschickte Kommunikationsfähigkeit ist der Schlüssel zu einer guten Beratungsleistung. Dies beinhaltet sowohl die Fähigkeit, die lokale Sprache zu sprechen als auch eine Balance zwischen kulturell angepasster Kommunikation und Anstoß zur Veränderung durch herausfordernde Kommunikation zu betreiben. Dann kann fachliche Expertise ihren Weg finden.

Ihr Rat für jemanden, der als Entwicklungshelfer/in für den Entwicklungsdienst der GIZ tätig werden will?

Um Spaß an der Arbeit zu haben und Veränderungen anzuregen, ist es von großem Vorteil, neben den Fachkenntnissen eine große Portion Motivation, Sprachkenntnisse und kulturelles Interesse mitzubringen. Die eine oder andere Frustration muss auch überstanden werden können. Mein Rat ist also, dies vorab bei sich selbst zu überprüfen.

Interview mit René Rösler (Finanzsystementwicklung, Laos)

Was sind Sie von Beruf?

Ich bin gelernter Bankkaufmann sowie Betriebs- und Volkswirt mit Fokus auf die Internationale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

Was ist Ihre Aufgabe als EH?

Ich bin im Mikrofinanzsektor tätig und unterstütze dabei den Aufbau von Dorfbanken, sowie einen Dorfbankendachverband. Ich arbeite hier in Laos zusammen mit der Partnerorganisation sowohl auf der lokalen als auch auf der Provinzebene. Unser Projekt verfolgt den Mehrebenenansatz (Mikro, Meso, Makro) und es besteht auf einen engen Austausch mit dem Projektmanagement auf nationaler Ebene.

Warum haben Sie sich dafür entschieden, für die GIZ als Entwicklungshelfer zu arbeiten?

Ich denke, dass die Herausforderungen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in den Partnerländern nur gut gemeistert werden können, wenn die Bedürfnisse auf lokaler Ebene verstanden und berücksichtig werden. Als Entwicklungshelfer vor Ort kann ich daran maßgeblich mitwirken. Ich finde die Tätigkeit als Entwicklungshelfer deswegen sehr wichtig und die Arbeit und den Austausch mit den lokalen Kollegen vor Ort unheimlich spannend und bereichernd.

Wie sieht Ihr typischer Arbeitstag aus?

Mein Arbeitsalltag lässt sich grob in drei Schwerpunkte unterteilen. Auf der lokalen Ebene sind es die regelmäßigen Besuche der Dorfbanken, in denen ich die nationalen Fachkräfte unterstütze und fachlich berate. Dabei suche ich den direkten Kontakt mit den Dorfbankkomitees. Diese bestehen nur aus Dorfbewohnern, die in ihrem Alltag z.B. Landwirtschaft betreiben. Neben der Beratung lerne ich hier die täglichen Herausforderungen der Dorfbanken kennen. Der zweite Teil besteht in der Beratung eines Dorfbankendachverbandes, der auf regionaler Ebene zum einen die Interessen der Dorfbanken vertritt und zum anderen versucht, die Qualität der einzelnen Dorfbanken zu verbessern. Der dritte Teil ist die enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Projektmanagement auf nationaler Ebene. Da wir als GIZ den Dorfbankenansatz in mehreren Provinzen des Landes unterstützen, hilft ein regelmäßiger Austausch komplexere Entwicklungsthemen gemeinsam zu meistern und von einander zu lernen.

Wie ist es, als Entwicklungshelfer für den Entwicklungsdienst der GIZ zu arbeiten?

Ich habe bisher sehr gute Erfahrungen gemacht. Das liegt in erster Linie an der guten Zusammenarbeit mit meiner Partnerorganisation. Die Arbeit des Entwicklungshelfers wird bei uns sehr wert geschätzt.

Was ist Ihre wichtigste Erfahrung, seit Sie als Entwicklungshelfer arbeiten?

Die persönliche Bestätigung, dass zu einer guten Entwicklungszusammenarbeit ein Wissenstransfer von der lokalen zur nationalen Ebene unbedingt stattfinden muss. Da Entwicklung ein fortlaufender Prozess ist, reicht es nicht aus, Momentaufnahmen oder Erfahrungen aus der Vergangenheit als Grundlage für nationale Programme oder Strategien zu verwenden, die an den Bedürfnisse der eigentlichen Zielgruppe vorbei gehen.

Ihr Rat für jemanden, der als Entwicklungshelfer/in für den Entwicklungsdienst der GIZ tätig werden will?

Ohne Grundkenntnisse der nationalen Sprache würde ich viele Prozesse und wichtige kulturelle Feinheiten nicht verstehen und deuten können. Deswegen ist eine hohe kulturelle Sensibilität sehr wichtig. Neben den vielen fachlichen und sozialen Kompetenzen, die von dem heutigen Entwicklungshelfer gewünscht werden, hilft mir bei den täglichen Herausforderungen und den nicht immer einfachen Arbeitsbedingungen eine gewisse Portion an Gelassenheit und Ausgeglichenheit. Des Weiteren sollte der Entwicklungshelfer persönlich von dem Konzept seines Projektes überzeugt sein.

Interview mit Winfried Scheewe (Ökologischer Landbau, Kambodscha)

Was sind Sie von Beruf?

Ich bin Agrar-Ingenieur, außerdem habe ich eine kaufmännische Ausbildung durchlaufen.

Was ist Ihre Aufgabe als Entwicklungshelfer?

Ich berate seit Oktober 2010 die Cambodian Organic Agriculture Association (COrAA), einen Zusammenschluss von Genossenschaften, kleinen Unternehmern, Landwirten sowie Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen, die sich für die Förderung der ökologischen Landwirtschaft in Kambodscha einsetzen.

Warum haben Sie sich dafür entschieden, für die GIZ als Entwicklungshelfer zu arbeiten?

Für mich war das Engagement in der ländlichen Entwicklung ausschlaggebend.

Wie sieht Ihr typischer Arbeitstag aus?

Da die Partnerorganisation relativ wenige Mitarbeiter hat, verbringe ich einen Teil meiner Arbeitszeit mit der Kommunikation mit Mitgliedern, aber auch mit anderen interessierten Gruppen und Personen, meist mittels Emails. Darüber hinaus berate ich die Kollegen und die Vorstandsmitglieder bei ihren zahlreichen und vielfältigen Aufgaben. Gelegentlich begleite ich Kollegen bei ihrer Arbeit mit den Mitgliedern auf dem Lande.

Wie ist es, als Entwicklungshelfer für den Entwicklungsdienst der GIZ zu arbeiten?

Nachdem ich schon einmal mit einer kleineren Entsendeorganisation gearbeitet habe, finde ich es von Vorteil durch eine größere Organisation entsandt zu werden, die bei Bedarf die Entwicklungshelfer Vorort direkt unterstützen kann.

Was ist Ihre wichtigste Erfahrung, seit Sie als Entwicklungshelfer arbeiten?

Die Arbeit ist sehr vielfältig und häufig entwickeln sich unerwartete Dynamiken, die wiederum zu Aufgaben führen, die nicht vorgesehen waren. So muss ich mir fortwährend neues Wissen aneignen.

Ihr Rat für jemanden, der als Entwicklungshelfer/in für den Entwicklungsdienst der GIZ tätig werden will?

Es ist natürlich wichtig, in fachlicher und beratungsmethodischer Hinsicht gut vorbereitet zu sein, aber ebenso wichtig ist es, geduldig und flexibel zu sein, um so auf unvorhergesehene Entwicklungen und Anforderungen eingehen zu können.

Interview mit Stefanie Simon (Wirtschaftsförderung, Ghana)

Was sind Sie von Beruf?

Consultant, momentan bin ich als Entwicklungshelferin für eine Wirtschaftsorganisation in der Western Region in Ghana tätig.

Was ist Ihre Aufgabe als EH?

Ich unterstütze meine Partnerorganisation bei allem, was ansteht – von einfachen Prozessen im Büro über Termine mit anderen Organisation und Delegationen bis hin zu großen Projekten wie internationale Konferenzen oder neue Services für Mitgliedsunternehmen. Daher finde ich den Begriff „Entwicklungshelfer“ auch nicht wirklich passend. Ich berate.

Warum haben Sie sich dafür entschieden, für die GIZ als Entwicklungshelferin zu arbeiten?

Der Projektplatz klang spannend, das Land klang spannend und ich wollte etwas Neues ausprobieren. Nach einigen Jahren in der freien Wirtschaft in Deutschland wollte ich meinen Horizont erweitern und mich noch einmal sehr weit aus meiner eigenen Komfortzone herausbewegen.

Wie sieht Ihr typischer Arbeitstag aus?

Den gibt es nicht. Mein Tag ist abhängig von meinem „Kunden“ (meiner Partnerorganisation) und deren Tag ist abhängig von deren Kunden (den Mitgliedsunternehmen). Ich bin aber auch in viele alltägliche Prozesse eingebunden, wie in die wöchentliche Absprache der ToDo’s, kleinere Tutorials, die ich für alle halte, Projektbesprechungen etc. Diese werden aber selten vorher geplant, sondern finden spontan statt. Auch Auswärtstermine werden in sehr seltenen Fällen geplant. Insgesamt ist mein Arbeitstag somit ziemlich unvorhersehbar. Wenn plötzlich Strom und Internet ausfallen, kann ich meistens nicht mehr sehr viel tun. Es hilft, auf alles vorbereitet zu sein und manche Dinge einfach etwas lockerer zu sehen.

Wie ist es, als Entwicklungshelferin für den Entwicklungsdienst der GIZ zu arbeiten?

Die GIZ bietet ein gutes Paket, das einen Entwicklungshelfer gut absichert. Im Land werden viele Vorkehrungen getroffen und Maßnahmen durchgeführt, damit alles reibungslos läuft. Trotzdem sind Entwicklungshelfer im Partnerland auf sich alleine gestellt. Das hat Vorteile, Selbständigkeit und Eigenverantwortung ist nicht nur ein Schlagwort, aber es hat auch Nachteile. Vor allem hinsichtlich eines Feedbacks, denn es muss jedem klar sein, dass niemand hinter einem steht und sagt, was richtig oder falsch ist, dies kann nur aus Reaktionen des Gegenübers abgeleitet werden.

Was ist Ihre wichtigste Erfahrung, seit Sie als Entwicklungshelferin arbeiten?

Jemandem etwas zeigen, bringt wenig, jemanden etwas selbst herausfinden lassen, dagegen sehr viel. Das bedeutet aber manchmal auch, dass man Dinge scheitern lassen muss. Und es gibt kulturelle Werte, die tief verwurzelt sind. Bei mir ist dies Pünktlichkeit. Dafür bin ich leider im völlig falschen Land, lerne aber so etwas über Geduld.

Ihr Rat für jemanden, der als Entwicklungshelfer/in für den Entwicklungsdienst der GIZ tätig werden will?

Diese Entscheidung, als Entwicklungshelferin zu arbeiten, ist nicht leicht getroffen und nicht leicht gelebt, jeder muss seine eigenen Grenzen kennen und bereit sein, sie permanent zu überschreiten. Aber wenn ich dazu bereit bin, kann ich eine wunderbare Zeit haben und selbst viel lernen.

Interview mit Lucia Fetzer (Friedensfachkraft, Ruanda)

Was sind Sie von Beruf?

Ich habe interdisziplinär studiert (B.A. Kulturwirt und M.A. European Studies) und mich in diesem Rahmen auf verschiedene Konfliktkontexte spezialisiert (Nordirland, Zypern, Bosnien, Sri Lanka...). In diesen Ländern habe ich auch meine Arbeitserfahrung gesammelt, zumeist bei zivilgesellschaftlichen und staatlichen Trägern der internationalen Zusammenarbeit.

Was ist Ihre Aufgabe als Friedensfachkraft?

Ich unterstütze die Partnerorganisation IBUKA, ein Netzwerkverband für Genozidüberlebende. Wir haben gemeinsam ein Projekt in der Südprovinz aufgebaut, in dem Freiwillige in Trauma- und Konfliktbearbeitung ausgebildet werden. Diese Freiwilligen vermitteln dann in ihrem Umfeld bei Konflikten und lindern Trauma-Symptome, die häufig in Zusammenhang mit diesen Konflikten stehen. Auf diese Weise tragen sie zu den Versöhnungsprozessen in ihren Gemeinden bei. Ich war an allen Phasen der Projektentwicklung beteiligt, habe bei der Planung, Umsetzung und Evaluierung mitgewirkt. Des Weiteren habe ich die Organisation im Networking unterstützt und über Partner des ZFDs in Burundi einen regionalen Erfahrungsaustausch initiiert sowie IBUKA in Fragen der Organisationsentwicklung, z.B. zu Fundraising und PR, beraten.

Warum haben Sie sich dafür entschieden, für die GIZ als Friedensfachkraft zu arbeiten?

Im Zentrum der Entscheidung stand mein allgemeines Interesse an Konflikten und zwischenmenschlicher Interaktion. Ich war neugierig, wie Menschen in anderen Kulturen mit Konflikten umgehen. Als Friedensfachkraft habe ich die Möglichkeit, dies an der Basis zu verfolgen und durch interkulturellen Austausch über Andere und mich selbst zu lernen.

Wie sieht Ihr typischer Arbeitstag aus?

Ich habe sehr unterschiedliche Arbeitsalltage. Einerseits arbeite ich im Büro im Süden zusammen mit der einheimischen Fachkraft. Hier besprechen wir uns, dokumentieren Projektaktivitäten und planen nächste Schritte. Manchmal kriegen wir Besuch von Freiwilligen, die ihre Fortschritte und Herausforderungen mit uns teilen oder anderen ruandischen zivilgesellschaftlichen oder staatlichen Partnern, welche im gleichen Bereich tätig sind. Oft machen wir Feldbesuche in den 3 Distrikten, wo wir arbeiten. Entweder führen wir Workshops durch, an denen jeweils 30 der insgesamt 90 Freiwilligen teilnehmen, oder wir besuchen einzelne Freiwillige und ihre „Klienten“ an ihrem Wohnort, um die friedensfördernde Wirkung der Arbeit zu untersuchen und Verbesserungsvorschläge entgegen zu nehmen. Andererseits verbringe ich ca. 1/3 meiner Arbeitszeit im Hauptbüro meiner Partnerorganisation in der Hauptstadt Kigali. Hier nehme ich an strategischen Besprechungen zur Stärkung von IBUKA teil und trage zum internen Mainstreaming des im Süden gesammelten Wissens zur Konflikttransformation bei. Ebenfalls unterstütze ich die Kommunikation zwischen IBUKA und der GIZ. Bei regelmäßigen Treffen mit anderen FFKs und den Partnern des ZFDs entwickeln wir das Landesprogramm gemeinsam weiter. Auch wird die Kooperation zwischen den Partnerorganisationen gestärkt.

Wie ist es, als Friedensfachkraft für das ZFD-Programm zu arbeiten?

Anstrengend und Bereichernd! Einerseits habe ich durch die hohe Eigenverantwortung und die enge Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern und Zielgruppen unendliche Möglichkeiten, mich sinnvoll einzubringen und mich wirkungsorientiert zu engagieren. Es ist sehr befriedigend zu sehen, was die direkten Auswirkungen unserer Arbeit auf die Bevölkerung sein können. Andererseits sind Prozesse oft langsam und manchmal auch destruktiv. Daher ist es wichtig, sich abzugrenzen und seine eigene Belastungsgrenze zu kennen. Ich erlebe das ZFD Programm als sehr teamorientiert und erfahre durch den programminternen Zusammenhalt große Unterstützung und Rückhalt.

Was ist Ihre wichtigste Erfahrung, seit Sie als FFK arbeiten?

Mich beeindruckt die Stärke, Offenheit und Lernbereitschaft der Menschen, die unglaubliches Leid erfahren haben. Durch meine Rolle als FFK habe ich direkten Zugang zu Lebensgeschichten aus dem ruandischen Alltag und kann die Veränderungen beobachten, die die Menschen durch das von uns initiierte Empowerment durchlaufen. Zu sehen, wie Genozidüberlebende, die bis vor kurzem selbst mit Trauma-Symptomen zu kämpfen hatten, andere Menschen in der Verarbeitung ihres Leids unterstützen oder sich mit Tätern versöhnen, spiegelt für mich ergreifende Beispiele für Menschlichkeit und Hoffnung.

Ihr Rat für jemanden, der als Friedensfachkraft für den Entwicklungsdienst der GIZ im ZFD-Programm tätig werden will?

Wichtig für die Arbeit als Friedensfachkraft ist die Freude an interkultureller Kommunikation, der Wille, gut zuzuhören, und im Team zu arbeiten. Im Vorfeld sollte man sich mit der Frage nach der persönlichen Frustrationstoleranz und Flexibilität auseinander setzen, da vor Ort die wenigsten Sachen so ablaufen, wie geplant. Es ist unerlässlich, gute und erprobte Selbstschutzmechanismen mitzubringen.