Development Cooperation Trainee Programme

The Development Cooperation Trainee Programme familiarises you with complex coordination and management tasks in development cooperation.

What does the Development Cooperation Trainee Programme offer?

The programme begins on 1 July of each year and lasts 17 months, during which time you will learn hands-on about many different aspects of German and multilateral development cooperation. The programme focuses on technical cooperation (TC). Training begins in Germany with one month of preparation for your assignment abroad, comprising an induction period at GIZ Head Office and a preparatory programme at the German Academy for International Cooperation (AIZ).

This is followed by a 11-month assignment abroad, eight months of which will be spent working on a GIZ project in one of our partner countries and the remaining three months in a partner country or at the head office of another German or international organisation for development. You will then undertake a five-month assignment at the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) in Bonn or Berlin. 

Once you have completed this programme, you will be well qualified to take on a challenging post as a specialist or manager at GIZ, or within another German or international development institution.

What are the prerequisites?

You need to have a university degree (Bachelor or higher). Please refer to the relevant trainee programme advertisement for its specific profile requirements. You should also have gained some initial work experience (this can include internships) or hold a postgraduate qualification. Initial experience of working in a developing country and knowledge of development cooperation (this can similarly include internships) are desirable. The programme is open to people of any nationality, but it is important that you have a sound command of spoken and written German.

What are trainees paid?

€1,900 per month

Further Information

When can I apply for the Development Cooperation Trainee Programme?

The application window for the Development Cooperation Trainee Programme is open from 1-30 September each year. During this period you can apply for a maximum of two specific trainee posts advertised on our job opportunities page. Please ensure that you meet the requirements of the post or posts you apply for. You are not required to have completed your course of study at the time of submitting your application. Successful applicants are admitted into the Development Cooperation Trainee Programme on 1 July of the following year. We are unable to accept speculative applications for the Development Cooperation Trainee Programme or applications submitted outside of the application window. You should only submit applications during the application period in response to advertised vacancies.

How can I apply?

During the application period you can apply through our job opportunities page for specific development cooperation trainee posts with different specialisms. To view our current vacancies, simply click on Aktuelle Angebote für EZ-Trainees (current vacancies for development cooperation trainees) in the right-hand column. Please submit your application in German, using the electronic application form. Please attach a CV showing your relevant experience and a covering letter for the shortlisting process. You will receive an automated reply confirming receipt of your application. We cannot accept any applications submitted by post or email.

What will happen to my application?

The information in your application form will automatically be transferred to a database that can only be accessed from within GIZ. When you submit your application, you automatically consent to your data being stored electronically. Any changes you make to your online form after the application window has closed will not be taken into account.

Once the application window has closed, we will begin shortlisting applications.

We will write to all applicants after this initial shortlisting process, which should be completed by the end of December. Together with the relevant manager, we will then decide which applicants will be invited to the selection day. These are held between December and March of the recruitment year on a post-by-post basis.

Application check

Every year we receive many more applications for our Development Cooperation Trainee Programme than we have places to offer. The application check (see the link on the right) will give you an idea as to whether or not you meet the criteria for the programme, and whether or not your application has a good chance of being accepted.

Before you fill out the application check, select one or two trainee places that you find interesting from our ‘Current vacancies’. This is important because the last two questions relate directly to specific posts.

If you complete the application check outside the regular application deadlines, answer the last two questions with ‘Yes’.

Use of this service is voluntary. We do not evaluate the application checks on an individual basis, thus ensuring confidentiality. If you choose to take part, please be self-critical when answering the questions in the application check. You will receive a prompt and detailed response.

Traineeprogramm der deutschen EZ

Das EZ-Traineeprogramm ist ein Nachwuchsförderungsprogramm des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ), welches die GIZ im Auftrag durchführt. Das EZ-Traineeprogramm führt Sie an komplexe Koordinierungs- und Managementaufgaben in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit heran. Als Absolvent/in dieses Programms haben Sie gute Voraussetzungen, später anspruchsvolle Fach- und Führungspositionen in deutschen und internationalen Organisationen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (EZ) zu übernehmen.

Was bietet das EZ-Traineeprogramm im Detail?

Das Programm beginnt immer zum 1. Juli eines Jahres und dauert 17 Monate, in denen Sie die deutsche und multilaterale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (EZ) aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven aktiv kennen lernen. Der Schwerpunkt des Programms liegt auf der bilateralen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Die Ausbildung beginnt mit einer einmonatigen Auslandsvorbereitung in Deutschland.

Anschließend folgt ein 11-monatiger Auslandseinsatz. Acht Monate davon verbringen Sie in einem Vorhaben der Technischen Zusammenarbeit in einem unserer Partnerländer und weitere drei Monate im Partnerland oder der Zentrale einer anderen deutschen oder internationalen Organisation der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Im Anschluss folgt ein fünfmonatiger Einsatz im BMZ in Bonn oder Berlin. 

Was sind die Voraussetzungen?

Wir erwarten, dass Sie ein Hochschulstudium (Bachelor ist ausreichend) abgeschlossen haben. Die spezifischen Fachprofile entnehmen Sie den einzelnen Stellenausschreibungen. Zusätzlich sollen Sie erste Berufserfahrungen (hier genügen auch Praktika) mitbringen. Erste Erfahrungen in einem Entwicklungsland und Kenntnisse der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit sind von Vorteil (auch hier genügt ein Praktikum). Das Programm ist für alle Nationalitäten offen, Voraussetzung für eine sinnvolle Ausbildung ist aber eine gute Beherrschung der deutschen Sprache in Wort und Schrift.

Wie wird eine Traineestelle vergütet?

€ 1.900,- pro Monat.

MEHR SCHLIESSEN

Wann kann ich mich bewerben?

Die Bewerbungsfrist für das EZ-Traineeprogramm  beginnt jährlich am 1. September und endet am 30. September. Nur in dieser Zeit können Sie sich auf eine oder maximal zwei konkrete Stellenausschreibungen in unserem Stellenmarkt bewerben. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Ihre fachliche Qualifikationen den beschriebenen Anforderungen in den Stellenausschreibungen entsprechen sollten. Ihr Studium muss zum Beginn des EZ-Traineeprogramms abgeschlossen sein, nicht zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung. Der Einstellungstermin für das EZ-Traineeprogramm ist der 1. Juli im darauffolgenden Jahr.

Eine Bewerbung für das EZ-Traineeprogramm außerhalb unserer Bewerbungsfrist ist nicht möglich.

Eine Initiativbewerbung für das EZ-Traineeprogramm ist nicht möglich. Sie können Sich ausschließlich im angegebenen Bewerbungszeitraum auf konkrete Stellenausschreibungen bewerben.

MEHR SCHLIESSEN

Wie bewerbe ich mich?

Sie erhalten innerhalb der Bewerbungsfrist die Möglichkeit, sich über unseren Stellenmarkt online auf spezifische EZ-Trainee Stellen mit unterschiedlichen fachlichen Schwerpunkten zu bewerben. Die Stellenausschreibungen finden Sie unter dem Link in der rechten Spalte: „Aktuelle Angebote für EZ-Trainees“. Bitte senden Sie uns Ihre Bewerbung in deutscher Sprache zu. Sie können sich mit dem elektronischen Bewerbungsbogen bewerben. Als Anlagen reichen ein aussagekräftiger Lebenslauf und ein Motivations-/ Anschreiben alle weiteren Unterlagen können Sie gerne beifügen, sind für die Vorauswahl aber nicht notwendig . Wenn Sie Ihre Bewerbung erfolgreich abgeschickt haben, erhalten Sie ein automatisches Bestätigungsschreiben. Bitte senden Sie uns keine Bewerbungsunterlagen per Post oder E-Mail zu.

MEHR SCHLIESSEN

Was passiert mit meiner Bewerbung?

Die Daten aus dem Bewerbungsbogen werden automatisch in eine Datenbank überführt, die nur intern einsehbar ist. Mit der Übersendung des Bewerbungsbogens erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass Ihre Daten elektronisch gespeichert werden. Nach Ende der Bewerbungsfrist werden Aktualisierungen an Ihrer Online-Bewerbung nicht mehr berücksichtigt.

Nach Ende der Bewerbungsfrist führen wir eine Vorauswahl durch.

Erst nach der ersten Vorauswahl werden alle Bewerber/innen von uns angeschrieben. Die erste Vorauswahl wird voraussichtlich Ende Dezember abgeschlossen sein. Wir entscheiden anschließend gemeinsam mit der betreffenden Führungskraft, wer zum Auswahltag eingeladen wird. Die Auswahltage beginnen stellenbezogen bereits im Dezember und enden im März des Einstellungsjahres.

MEHR SCHLIESSEN

Bewerbungs-Check

Für das EZ-Traineeprogramm bewerben sich Jahr für Jahr deutlich mehr Personen, als Stellen zu besetzen sind. Der Bewerbungs-Check (Link in der rechten Spalte) bietet Ihnen eine Orientierung, ob Sie die Anforderungen an das Programm erfüllen und Ihre Bewerbung damit Aussicht auf Erfolg hat.

Bevor Sie am Bewerbungs-Check teilnehmen, sollten Sie aus den „Aktuellen Ausschreibungen" ein oder zwei für Sie interessante EZ-Traineestellen auswählen, da die letzten zwei Fragen Bezug auf die konkreten Stellen nehmen.

Sollten Sie den Bewerbungs-Check außerhalb der Bewerbungsfrist durchführen, bitten wir Sie, die zwei letzten Fragen mit „Ja“ zu beantworten.

Es ist Ihnen überlassen, ob Sie dieses Angebot nutzen. Der Bewerbungs-Check wird von der GIZ nicht individuell ausgewertet, ist also vertraulich. Sofern Sie teilnehmen, beantworten Sie die Fragen des Bewerbungs-Checks bitte selbstkritisch, Sie erhalten umgehend eine ausführliche Antwort.

Kontakt

Caroline Neininger
caroline.neininger@giz.de
Telefon: +49 6196 79 7509


Weitere Informationen

Bewerber-Check für das EZ-Traineeprogramm