Doctorates

Are you are planning to do a doctorate and would you like to do so in cooperation with GIZ? Read on to find out everything you need to know about doctorates and different forms of cooperation.

Choosing to do a doctorate is an important personal decision

Doctoral theses take between three and five years to complete. This means that doctoral students have a lot of potential as specialists, drivers of innovation and future staff members.

However, there are many uncertainties involved in the long time scale over which research work is conducted, and this makes it difficult for GIZ to actively seek cooperation. An issue that is topical today, for example, might not be so relevant two years down the line. Candidates might abandon their plans for personal reasons. And colleagues who are working on particular issues at the moment might take up new posts next year. This means that it is only practical and possible to do a doctorate in cooperation with GIZ in specific individual cases.

Doing a doctorate means showing initiative

GIZ is not a research body. That means that we have no central budget to finance doctoral theses or other research work. Individual projects, programmes and organisational units can decide in specific cases to finance part of a thesis using their own funds. The supervisory workload must be kept to a minimum.

If you would like to do your doctorate with GIZ, you will need to take the initiative. It is up to you to seek contact with specialists and convince them to support your plans.

When deciding whether or not to support a doctoral thesis, GIZ staff will be looking for answers to the following questions:

  • Is the topic relevant for the further development of my field of work?
  • Will I/my project be able to use the interim results of the research in the near future?
  • Is the candidate reliable? Can we expect him/her to complete the thesis?
  • Is the candidate independent? Or will supervisory duties take up a lot of my working time?

In practice, contact with doctoral students generally develops as a result of earlier internships or other forms of employment. The advantage of this previous work experience is that students should already understand the company and its structures. GIZ colleagues are also better able to judge the candidate on a personal level.

Forms of cooperation

We have developed four forms of cooperation:

  1. Doing a doctorate and using data: Your doctorate is financed by sources outside GIZ (e.g. scholarships, research assistant post, etc.) and you use data provided by GIZ. You consult closely with the staff responsible for the topic in question.
  2. Doing a doctorate and working as a consultant: You do your doctorate independently and work as a consultant in areas related to your topic.
  3. Doing a doctorate while working half-time as a junior expert: You do your doctorate independently and finance your research through a part-time job as a junior expert. Please note that it can be extremely difficult to reconcile the demands of your job with your commitments to your doctorate.
  4. Doing a doctorate within the framework of an internship: You do an internship at GIZ lasting up to six months and have access to the relevant data during this time.

Promotion

Sie planen Ihre Promotion und würden diese gern in der GIZ umsetzen? Auf den folgenden Seiten erfahren Sie alles rund um eine Promotion und die möglichen Formen der Zusammenarbeit.

Die Entscheidung für eine Promotion ist eine grundlegende und persönliche.

Dissertationen erstrecken sich über einen langen Zeitraum (3-5 Jahre). Das macht Promovendinnen und Promovenden grundsätzlich interessant als Fachexpertinnen und Fachexperten für Themen, als Innovationsträgerinnen und Innovationsträger sowie zukünftige Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter.

Der lange Zeitraum der Forschungsarbeit birgt jedoch mehrere Unwägbarkeiten, die es für die GIZ schwierig machen, diese Zusammenarbeit zu suchen. Das Thema, das jetzt noch aktuell ist, ist in zwei Jahren vielleicht schon nicht mehr interessant. Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten brechen ihr Vorhaben aus persönlichen Gründen ab oder die/der Kollegin und Kollege, der jetzt noch ein Thema fördert, hat nächstes Jahr schon im Ausland eine andere Stelle übernommen.

Eine Promotion in Zusammenarbeit mit der GIZ ist daher nur im Einzelfall sinnvoll und möglich.

Promotion bedeutet Eigeninitiative

Die GIZ ist keine Forschungsfördereinrichtung. Das bedeutet, dass es kein zentrales Budget gibt, aus dem heraus Dissertationen oder andere Forschungsarbeiten finanziert werden. Einzelne Vorhaben und Organisationseinheiten können im Einzelfall entscheiden, ob sie Teile einer Arbeit aus ihren Mitteln unterstützen möchten. Hierbei muss sich der Betreuungsaufwand auf ein möglichst geringes Maß beschränken.

Promovieren in der GIZ basiert ausschließlich auf Ihrer Eigeninitiative. Sie müssen eigenständig den Kontakt zu den Fachkolleginnen und -kollegen suchen und diese von Ihrem Vorhaben überzeugen.

Für GIZ-Mitarbeiterinnen und -Mitarbeiter stehen bei der Begleitung einer Promovendin oder eines Promovenden folgende Fragen im Vordergrund, auf die Sie sich bei einer Kontaktaufnahme einstellen sollten:

  • Ist das Thema interessant für die Weiterentwicklung meines Arbeitsfeldes?
  • Kann ich/kann mein Vorhaben relativ zeitnah Zwischenergebnisse der Arbeit nutzen?
  • Ist die Kandidatin/der Kandidat zuverlässig? Ist zu erwarten, dass sie/er die Arbeit zu Ende führt?
  • Ist die Kandidatin/der Kandidat eigenständig? Oder nimmt der Betreuungsaufwand einen Großteil meiner Arbeitszeit in Anspruch?

In der Praxis ergeben sich Promotionskontakte in der Regel aus früheren Praktika oder anderen Beschäftigungsverhältnissen. Diese frühere Zusammenarbeit hat den Vorteil, dass GIZ-Kolleginnen und -Kollegen Kenntnisse des Unternehmens und seiner Strukturen voraussetzen und die Kandidatin/den Kandidaten persönlich einschätzen können.

Formen der Zusammenarbeit

In der Praxis haben sich 4 Arten der Zusammenarbeit mit Promovendinnen und Promovenden herauskristallisiert:

  1. Promovieren und Daten nutzen: Sie promovieren, indem Sie sich über Quellen außerhalb der GIZ finanzieren, z. B. Stipendien, Tätigkeiten am Lehrstuhl etc. und nutzen Daten der GIZ. Hierzu stimmen Sie sich eng mit der/dem thematisch verantwortlichen GIZ-Kollegin/en oder GIZ-Kollegen ab.
  2. Promovieren und als Gutachterin oder Gutachter tätig sein: Sie promovieren eigenverantwortlich und übernehmen Gutachtertätigkeiten, die mit Ihrem Thema zusammenhängen.
  3. Promovieren und 50%-Stelle als Juniorfachkraft: Sie promovieren eigenverantwortlich und finanzieren sich über eine halbe Stelle als Juniorfachkraft. Die Vereinbarkeit von Berufstätigkeit und Promotion ist in dieser Konstellation äußerst schwierig.
  4. Promovieren im Rahmen einer Praktikantentätigkeit. Sie absolvieren bis zu 6 Monate ein Praktikum in der GIZ und nutzen in diesem Zeitraum die entsprechenden Daten.