Preparing for an assignment as an advisor

Advisory services constitute the main duty in more than 80 per cent of job descriptions for development workers. What exactly do these services involve? What skills are required? What are the expectations of GIZ and of partner organisations? To answer these questions, we will need to take a detailed look at the role of a development advisor, starting from the two-week in-house preparatory course.

"For your information, I would like to ask you some questions."– (K. Lewin)

This quote from Kurt Lewin – often considered the father of modern social psychology – epitomises the shift that has occurred over the years in the approach taken to providing advisory services. In the development cooperation context, advisory services are provided in complex, intercultural environments. They involve balancing the different interests of a wide variety of actors and require sectoral and methodological expertise and social skills if the desired results are to be achieved. Within the context of the Development Service, the understanding of advisory services has moved away from sectoral advice towards process-based advice. Advisory services are usually designed to increase the partner's problem-solving abilities. The focus event 'Roles and tasks of development workers and intervision (peer-assist)' – held during the two-week in-house preparatory course held in the run-up to an assignment – gives a brief overview of what this involves.

The event aims to familiarise participants with the different advisory roles that development workers (can) take on at their partner organisations and points out potential areas of conflict and challenges they may face in this context.

Mutual expectations

During an initial interactive course unit, development workers voice their expectations of GIZ, their colleagues, the future partner organisation and of themselves within the context of GIZ’s Corporate Principles. The partner organisation's and GIZ's presumed expectations of the development workers are also addressed. This admittedly involves some speculation, but it is helpful to look at the different expectations that all stakeholders have. Finally, the development workers outline potential areas of conflict and challenges they may face. These are used as a basis for introducing and practising the 'peer-assist' methodology in the afternoon session.

Integration into GIZ's structures in the partner country, support for administrative issues, an induction and training period, training opportunities and transparency usually top the list of expectations that development workers have of GIZ.

What do development workers usually think the partner organisations/GIZ will (could) expect of them? Expertise, professionalism and competence in their specific field top the poll. Most believe that partner organisations in particular expect an awareness of other cultures, the ability to quickly get to grips with their new working environment and to accept existing structures. Some development workers even assume that their partner organisations expect them to secure third-party funding and to act as an intermediary between the partner organisation and GIZ.

And what are development workers' expectations of themselves? In addition to performing well and providing sound advisory services, they would like to integrate well into the partner organisation, immerse themselves into the local culture and enhance their skills throughout the course of their assignment. A team game is then played, which is based on the findings of the working group, before moving on to an explanation of the advisory role and the different dimensions involved.

Food for thought

In a fun exercise, the five advisory roles of mediator, trainer, 'implementer', expert/specialist advisor and lawyer/manager/lobbyist are written on cards and placed on the floor. The participants position themselves at the card they believe corresponds most closely with their job descriptions. Experience shows that most development workers hover between several cards rather than committing to one specific role, demonstrating the fact that they will fulfil different (advisory) functions. To follow on, they pool their ideas on what sectoral, methodological and social skills they believe they need to successfully carry out their assignment. They may also break into small groups to do this. Most participants list the key social skills and knowledge required in this context either intuitively or based on previous experience.

The unit usually concludes by drawing participants' attention to the fact that the stakeholders involved in the project may need to come together to clarify mandates and roles at routine intervals. The development workers should also explain their individual roles as advisors in order to ensure transparency.

Intervision ('peer assist')

In the afternoon session, participants learn about 'peer assist', a method used to provide support to other colleagues and to solve problems. Peer assist adopts a systematic approach to dealing with problems in a specified period of time. A constructive solution is usually found to problems over a time frame of between forty-five and sixty minutes. The instrument is already being used in many of GIZ's country programmes.

Many participants assess the sessions on expectations, advisory duties and understanding the advisory role as a success because it raises their awareness of the specific issues they need to address in their future role as development workers and the potential for conflict that may arise in this context. It allows them to devise targeted solutions for potential problems. The day offers a general introduction to the topic. As a one-day module does not offer sufficient scope to deal with the personal attitudes of development workers in any great depth, and since there is a high demand for sessions on practising different question techniques, active listening and participatory advisory methods, we advise participants to attend more detailed courses during further preparatory measures at the Academy for International Cooperation (AIZ) in Bad Honnef or during briefing in the partner country, where specific aspects of advisory services in a particular cultural context can be addressed.

Jutta Heckel is responsible for preparing development workers at GIZ.

Further Information

The Academy of GIZ prepares prospective development workers extensively for their stay abroad.

Academy for International Cooperation

Auf dem Weg zur eigenen Beraterrolle

Mehr als 80 Prozent der Stellenbeschreibungen für Entwicklungshelferinnen und Entwicklungshelfer (EH) benennen die Beratung als Hauptaufgabe. Doch was ist damit gemeint, welche Fähigkeiten müssen Mann oder Frau mitbringen? Was erwarten GIZ und Partnerorganisationen? Diese Fragen zu beantworten, bedarf einer differenzierten Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema. Sie beginnt während der Vorbereitung der EH, zunächst in der zweiwöchigen Inhouse-Vorbereitung.

„Zu Ihrer Information möchte ich Ihnen einige Fragen stellen!“ - (K. Lewin)

Dieses Zitat von Lewin versinnbildlicht den Wandel in der Herangehensweise an die Beratungstätigkeit. Beratung in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit bedeutet eine Tätigkeit in komplexen, interkulturellen Umfeldern mit einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Akteure und Interessenslagen, die neben fachlich-methodischen Kenntnissen auch soziale Kompetenzen voraussetzt, wenn sie Wirkungen erzielen soll. Das Verständnis von Beratung im Kontext des Entwicklungsdienstes hat sich in den letzten Jahren von der Fachberatung zur Prozessberatung verändert. So soll Beratung in der Regel die Problemlösungsfähigkeiten der Partner erhöhen. Dies in einem kurzen Überblick den ausreisenden Entwicklungshelferinnen und Entwicklungshelfern (EH) zu vermitteln, ist Teil des Thementags „Rollen und Aufgaben der Entwicklungshelfer/innen und Kollegiale Beratung“ während der zweiwöchigen Inhouse-Vorbereitung.

Der Thementag dient einer ersten Annäherung an die unterschiedlichen Beraterrollen, die die Entwicklungshelfer in ihren Partnerorganisationen einnehmen (können) und sensibilisiert sie für potenzielle Konfliktfelder und Herausforderungen.

Gegenseitige Erwartungen

In einer ersten interaktiven Lerneinheit tauschen sich EH über ihre Erwartungen an die GIZ und an ihre Kollegen/innen, an die zukünftige Partnerorganisation und an sich selbst im Kontext des Leitbilds der GIZ aus. Eine weitere Frage bezieht sich auf die vermeintlichen Erwartungen, die die Partnerorganisation und die GIZ an sie stellen. Womit wir uns zugegebenermaßen im spekulativen Umfeld bewegen, doch hilft es, sich den unterschiedlichen Erwartungen anzunähern. Schließlich benennen die EH potenzielle Konflikte und Herausforderungen, anhand derer am Nachmittag die „Kollegiale Beratung“ als Methode eingeführt und eingeübt wird.

Bei den Erwartungen, die die EH an die GIZ formulieren, dominieren in der Regel: Einbindung in die Strukturen der GIZ vor Ort, Unterstützung bei administrativen Angelegenheiten, Zeit zur Einarbeitung, Möglichkeiten zur Fortbildung und Transparenz.

Was denken Entwicklungshelferinnen und Entwicklungshelfer, welche Erwartungen die Partnerorganisationen und die GIZ an sie stellen (könnten)? Fachlichkeit, professionelles Auftreten und inhaltliche Kompetenz stehen im Vordergrund. Interkulturelle Sensibilität, rasche Einarbeitung und Akzeptanz der Strukturen erwarten ihrer Meinung nach vor allem die Partner. Manche EH gehen darüber hinaus davon aus, dass ihre Partnerorganisationen die Einwerbung von Drittmitteln und eine Vermittlerrolle zwischen Partnerorganisation und GIZ erwartet.

Und was erwarten die Entwicklungshelferinnen und Entwicklungshelfer von sich selbst? Neben guten Arbeits- und Beratungsleistungen möchten sich die Fachkräfte in die Partnerorganisation integrieren, in die Kultur einleben und sich im Verlauf ihrer Tätigkeiten weiter bilden. Ausgehend von den Arbeitsgruppenergebnissen leiten sie dann mit einem Aufstellungsspiel auf das Beratungsverständnis und die verschiedenen Beraterrollen über.

Sportliche Denkübung

Fünf Beraterrollen-Typen – Mediatorin, Trainer, Umsetzerin, Experte/Fachberater und Anwältin/Manager/Lobbyistin – liegen auf Karten auf dem Boden aus und die Teilnehmer/innen positionieren sich dort, wo sie sich laut ihrer Stellenbeschreibung am ehesten verorten. Die wenigsten EH legen sich auf eine Beraterrolle fest, sondern verrenken sich über mehrere Karten und bringen so zum Ausdruck, dass sie in unterschiedlichen (Beratungs-)Funktionen tätig sein werden. Anknüpfend an diese sportliche Denkübung erarbeiten sie gemeinsam oder in Kleingruppen die fachlichen, methodischen Fähigkeiten sowie die sozialen Kompetenzen, die ihres Erachtens zu einer erfolgreichen Beratertätigkeit beitragen. Die meisten Teilnehmer/innen nennen aus Erfahrung oder intuitiv die dafür erforderlichen wesentlichen sozialen Kompetenzen.

Die Einheit schließt in der Regel mit den Hinweisen, dass eine regelmäßige Auftrags- und Rollenklärung zwischen den beteiligten Akteuren im Vorhaben notwendig sein kann. Ebenfalls sollen die EH ihre jeweils eingenommenen Beraterrollen transparent machen, um Missverständnisse zu vermeiden.

Methode „Kollegiale Beratung“

Am Nachmittag lernen die mit der „Kollegialen Beratung“ eine Methode der gegenseitigen Unterstützung und Problemlösung kennen. Die systematische Herangehensweise bei der „Kollegialen Beratung“ mit definierten Zeitangaben führt in der Regel nach 45 bis 60 Minuten zu konstruktiven Lösungsvorschlägen bei Problemen. Sie wird bereits in vielen Landesprogrammen der GIZ genutzt.

Den Tag „Erwartungen, Beraterrollen und Beratungsverständnis“ bewerten viele Teilnehmer/innen als erfolgreich, weil sie für die besonderen Fragestellungen und Konfliktpotenziale in ihrem künftigen Arbeitsumfeld als EH sensibilisiert werden und sich Anhaltspunkte zum lösungsorientierten Umgang mit Problemen erarbeiten. Es ist ein Einstieg in die Thematik. Für eine tiefer gehende Auseinandersetzung reicht dies nicht, da an der persönlichen Haltung von Entwicklungshelferinnen und Entwicklungshelfern während eines eintägigen Moduls kaum gearbeitet werden kann. Ein großer Bedarf besteht im Einüben von verschiedenen Fragetechniken, im aktiven Zuhören und im Bereich partizipative Beratungsmethoden. Deshalb empfehlen wir den Besuch weiterführender vertiefender Angebote im Rahmen der weiteren Vorbereitung in Deutschland in der Akademie für Internationale Zusammenarbeit in Bad Honnef (AIZ), beziehungsweise die Vertiefung des Themas während der Vorbereitung im Partnerland, wo vor allem die Besonderheiten von Beratung im jeweiligen kulturellen Kontext bearbeitet werden.

Dr. Christina Alff / Jutta Heckel
Jutta Heckel verantwortet in der GIZ die Vorbereitung von Entwicklunsghelfern.

Dr. Christina Alff hat viele Entwicklungshelfer/innen-Jahrgänge auf den Auslandseinsatz vorbereitet, insbesondere auf ihre Rolle als Berater.

Weitere Informationen

Die Akademie der GIZ bereitet angehende Entwicklungshelfer/innen umfangreich auf ihren Auslandsaufenthalt vor.

Akademie für Internationale Zusammenarbeit