Palestinian territories: Music brings down walls

Before I made my first visit to the Shuafat refugee camp in Jerusalem, a music band who are friends of mine had described this place to me as a ghetto.

They themselves grew up there and, at that time, were still making hardcore rap music. I thought their descriptions were grossly exaggerated, laughed at them and constantly wound them up, accusing them of trying to play up their gangsta rap image. One year later, I began working as a peace expert in Jerusalem and visited my friends in the Shuafat camp. As soon as I passed the checkpoint at the entrance, the horror hit me between the eyes and, by the time I got inside the walls of the camp, all I could think was, I have to apologise to the boys in the band. For all the really stupid things I’d said, like ‘you just want to be ghetto kids’ etc. I’d never seen anywhere like it: I couldn’t believe that it was actually part of Jerusalem. Cramped. Dark. Dirty. Walled in. Ghettoised. It’s not somewhere you go to voluntarily and strangers aren’t really welcome. They’re more likely to be viewed with suspicion. Fadi, Mohammad, I’m so sorry! I’m sorry that I was such an ignorant dumbass.

The two of them showed me where they produced their music and introduced me to the manager of the Palestinian Child Center: Khaled Al-Sheikh-Ali. His aim is to create a space within the camp for the children that enables them to forget that they’re in the camp. ‘A place where they can just play like every other child in the world.’ Abu Al-Sheikh, as Khaled is also known, also works with music – in a way, that is.

He plays the ‘magic flute’, as he likes to tell people. By which he means he can inspire children and young people. He understands them and tries to offer them what they actually want and not what adults think is good for children. I was immediately drawn to this idea and visited the centre in my free time as often as I could. I kept thinking, we have to get involved here...

One year later, we were working together on an ‘experiment’: a series of workshops to train 50 children and young people in alternative and creative forms of expression. Disciplines such as DJing, rap, junk percussion, singing and Dabke, a Palestinian folk dance, were covered. On 20 May 2014, the results were performed on a stage, along with other participants and famous artists from throughout Palestine and Germany, including German rap star Marteria. The festival drew a crowd of more than 1,500. Children, men, women, even sheikhs were there – and they were equally impressed.

For one evening, everyone could escape the everyday life of the camp. 

A lot of people from outside the camp also came. It was a new experience, for the camp’s inhabitants and for the visitors. The people from the Shuafat camp now had the opportunity to demonstrate who they are: i.e. not ghetto kids or even terrorists. No, they stood on the stage and played the hosts. They celebrated together, boys and girls, refugees and internationals.

The Shuafat camp had come alive and, for once, its walls had disappeared. Peace is more than just the absence of war. And peace work must prepare people to enter a space where self-confidence, mutual respect and recognition are the norm. Music is one way of learning this. Abu Al-Sheikh is continuing the concept as manager of the ‘Palestinian Child Center Shuafat’. He has since mastered more tunes on his ‘magic flute’, and even the adults are now sitting up and taking notice.

Kayed Sagalla,
Culture expert and educator and event organiser, CPS expert

Info.Box Project

The CPS has been working since 2003 in the Palestinian Territories, where the impact of Israeli occupation is the root cause of a whole raft of psychosocial problems. It supports civil society actors that offer psychosocial counselling, support and trauma therapies and create safe spaces to promote resilience and self-determination among children and young people in particular.

Since 2013, the CPS has taken a creative approach to tackling the political, geographical and social fragmentation of Palestine, through the medium of art, culture and sport.

Further Information

Palästina: Musik gegen Mauern

Bevor ich das erste Mal im Shuafat Flüchtlingslager in Jerusalem war, hatte eine befreundete Musikband mir diesen Ort als Ghetto beschrieben.

Sie selbst sind dort aufgewachsen und machten bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch knallharte Rapmusik. Ich hielt ihre Beschreibungen für maßlos überzogen, habe sie ausgelacht und sie ständig damit aufgezogen, dass sie damit ihr Gangsta-Rap-Image aufbauschen wollten. Ein Jahr später fing ich als Friedensfachkraft in Jerusalem an und besuchte meine Freunde im Shuafat Camp. Schon beim Passieren des Checkpoints am Eingang verschlug es mir fast die Sprache und als ich dann innerhalb der Mauer im Camp war, fiel mir nichts anderes ein, als mich bei den Jungs zu entschuldigen. Für all diese wirklich dummen Sprüche wie "ihr möchte-gern-Ghetto-Kids" und dergleichen. Solch einen Ort hatte ich vorher noch nie gesehen: Ich konnte nicht glauben, dass das wirklich ein Teil von Jerusalem sein sollte. Eng. Dunkel. Dreckig. Eingemauert. Ghettoisiert. Hierhin kommt man nicht freiwillig und Fremde sind auch nicht wirklich willkommen, sondern eher suspekt. Lieber Fadi, lieber Mohammad, es tut mir leid! Es tut mir leid, dass ich solch ein ignoranter Vollpfosten war.

Die beiden zeigten mir, wo sie ihre Musik produzierten und stellten mir den Leiter des Palestinian Child Centers vor: Khaled Al-Sheikh-Ali. Sein Ziel ist es, für die Kinder des Camps einen Raum innerhalb des Camps zu schaffen, der sie vergessen lässt, dass sie sich im Camp befinden. "Einen Ort, an dem sie einfach nur spielen können wie alle anderen Kinder auf der Welt auch." Abu Al-Sheikh, wie Khaled auch genannt wird, arbeitet auch mit Musik. Irgendwie zumindest.

Er selbst spielt die ›Zauberflöte‹, wie er oft und gerne erzählt. Damit meint er, dass er Kinder und Jugendliche begeistern kann. Er versteht sie und versucht ihnen genau das zu bieten, was sie wollen und nicht das, was Erwachsene denken, was gut für Kinder ist. Ich war sofort fasziniert und besuchte das Zentrum in meiner Freizeit nun so oft ich konnte. "Hier müssen wir was tun …".

Ein Jahr später arbeiteten wir gemeinsam an einem »Testballon«: Eine Workshop-Reihe, bei der 50 Kinder und Jugendliche in alternativen und kreativen Ausdrucksformen trainiert wurden. Es standen Disziplinen wie DJing, Rap, Junk-Percussion, Gesang und Dabke, ein palästinensischer Folkloretanz, auf dem Stundenplan. Die Ergebnisse wurden am 20.05.2014 auf einer Bühne mit anderen Teilnehmenden und bekannten Künstlern aus ganz Palästina und Deutschland präsentiert. Aus Deutschland kam sogar die RAP-Größe Marteria. Mehr als 1 500 Besucherinnen und Besucher hatte das Festival. Kinder, Männer, Frauen, auch Sheikhs waren da – und sie waren genauso beeindruckt.

Alle konnten für einen Abend dem Alltag im Camp entfliehen. 

Es kamen auch viele Menschen von außerhalb des Camps. Das war neu. Neu für die Campbewohnerinnen und -bewohner und neu für die Gäste. Die Menschen aus dem Shuafat Camp hatten jetzt die Gelegenheit zu zeigen, wer sie sind: Nämlich keine Ghetto-Kids oder gar Terroristen. Nein, sie standen auf der Bühne und waren Gastgeber. Sie feierten gemeinsam, Jungs und Mädels, Flüchtlinge und Internationals.

Das Shuafat Camp fand auf einmal statt, auch außerhalb des Camps. Frieden – das ist mehr als die Abwesenheit von Krieg. Und Friedensarbeit muss darauf vorbereiten, diesen Raum zu betreten, in dem Selbstvertrauen, gegenseitiger Respekt und Anerkennung gelebt werden. Das zu lernen geht auch über Musik. Abu Al-Sheikh führt das Konzept weiter fort als Leiter von ›Palestinian Child Center Shuafat‹. Er beherrscht mittlerweile weitere Melodien auf seiner ›Zauberflöte‹, zu deren Klängen auch die Erwachsenen lauschen.

Kayed Sagalla,
Kulturpädagoge und Veranstaltungskaufmann ZFD-Fachkraft

Info.Box Projekt

Der ZFD arbeitet seit 2003 in den Palästinensischen Gebieten, wo die Auswirkungen der israelischen Besatzung die Grundursache vieler psychosozialer Probleme sind. Er stärkt zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure, die psychosoziale Beratung, Unterstützung und Traumatherapien anbieten und sichere Räume schaffen, um die Resilienz und Selbstbestimmung insbesondere von Kindern und Jugendlichen fördern.

Seit 2013 thematisiert und bearbeitet der ZFD die auf politischer, geographischer und sozialer Ebene stattfindende Fragmentierung Palästinas kreativ durch Kunst, Kultur und Sport.

Weitere Informationen