Vocational education in India

Man wearing a helmet while welding

Preparing young people for the regional and supra-regional labour market: GIZ IS was commissioned by the Government of Gujarat with the construction of five vocational training centres and the development of cur-ricula and teaching and course materials.

Title: Technical Assistance and Support Services in Establishing Vocational Training Centres for the Tribal Youths of Gujarat State
Commissioned by: Government of Gujarat
Financier: Government of Gujarat
Country: India
Overall term: August 2010 to November 2015
Project volume: EUR 2.4 million

Context
The current ten-point plan of the Government of the Indian state of Gujarat is seeking to bring about sustainable development of the state’s infrastructure. One particular focus is on providing vocational support to the youth of ‘scheduled tribes’ (ST). The objective is to provide training for young people for the regional and supra-regional labour market, prepare them for employment and double the income of STs over the course of the next five years. The Tribal Development Department of Gujarat was given the task of implementing the ten-point programme.

Objective
The aim of the project is to support the construction of five vocational training centres in Gujarat in a public-private partnership model. The project seeks to improve the social and economic circumstances of ST members by providing employment-oriented training. All vocational training centres will be functionally and financially autonomous by the end of the project term.

Approach
GIZ IS was commissioned by the Tribal Development Department of Gujarat to provide advisory support for the construction and operation of five vocational training centres. As part of a public-private partnership, the project provides for the construction of vocational training centres in Paldi, Vaghodia, Vaghaldara, Dharampur and Dahod. These will serve as competence development centres and motors of growth for the region. Courses offered will include construction, manufacturing and hospital care management.

Inputs

  • Labour market analysis,
  • curriculum development,
  • production of teaching and course materials for long-term and short-term courses in English and the regional language (Gujarati),
  • measures for training course trainers,
  • networking with local industries and enterprises,
  • monitoring and evaluation

Results achieved so far

  • All five vocational training centres are open and currently offer 16 training courses:
  • eight long-term courses (1-2 years) and eight and short-term courses (2-3 months).
  • Teaching also includes English, soft skills and computer studies.
  • The first group of graduates all found jobs and are now earning a daily wage of 400-500 Indian rupees (approx. EUR 6-7). (By comparison: those without a training certificate are earning around 150-200 Indian rupees per day (approx. EUR 2-3).

Contact

Sectoral Expertise

Neue Berufschancen in Indien

Mann mit Schutzhelm beim Schweißen

Jugendliche fit für den regionalen und überregionalen Arbeitsmarkt zu machen: Dafür beauftragte die Regierung von Gujarat GIZ IS mit dem Bau von fünf Berufsbildungszentren und der Entwicklung von Curricula sowie Lehr- und Lernmaterialien.

Projektname: Technical Assistance and Support Services in Establishing Vocational Training Centres for the Tribal Youths of Gujarat State
Auftraggeber: Regierung von Gujarat
Finanzier: Regierung von Gujarat
Land: Indien
Projektlaufzeit: August 2010 bis November 2015
Projektvolumen: 2,4 Mio Euro

Ausgangssituation
Die Regierung des indischen Bundesstaates Gujarat strebt in ihrem aktuellen Zehn-Punkte-Programm eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der Infrastruktur des Bundesstaates an. Hierbei steht besonders die berufliche Förderung von Jugendlichen der „Scheduled Tribes (ST)“ – Angehörige der Stammesbevölkerung – im Mittelpunkt. Ziel ist es, Jugendliche für den regionalen und überregionalen Arbeitsmarkt auszubilden, ihnen eine Beschäftigung zu ermöglichen und das Einkommen der ST im Laufe der nächsten fünf Jahren zu verdoppeln. Für die Umsetzung des Zehn-Punkte-Programms wurde das Tribal Development Department von Gujarat beauftragt.

Ziel
Ziel des Projektes ist es, den Bau von fünf Berufsbildungszentren in Gujarat im Public-Private-Partnership-Modell zu unterstützen. Durch die Bereitstellung von beschäftigungsorientierten Ausbildungen für die Angehörigen der ST, soll eine Verbesserung ihrer sozialen Situation und ihre wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen erreicht werden. Am Ende der Projektzeit sollen alle Berufsbildungszentren selbstständig und finanziell unabhängig funktionieren.

Vorgehensweise
GIZ IS wurde von dem Tribal Development Department Gujarats beauftragt, den Bau und Betrieb von fünf Berufsbildungszentren beratend zu unterstützen. Das Projekt sieht die Errichtung von Berufsbildungszentren im Public-Private-Partnership-Modus in Paldi, Vaghodia, Vaghaldara, Dharampur und Dahod vor. Diese fungieren als Kompetenzentwicklungszentren und sollen Wachstumsmotoren für die Region sein. Kursangebote sind zum Beispiel Konstruktion, Fertigung und Krankenhauspflegemanagement.

Leistungen

  • Arbeitsmarktanalyse ´
  • Entwicklung eines Curriculum
  • Entwicklung von Lehr- und Lernmaterialien für Lang- und Kurzzeitkurse in Englisch und der regionalen Sprache (Gujarati)
  • Maßnahmen zur Trainerausbildung
  • Netzwerkbildung mit der einheimischen Industrie und Unternehmen
  • Monitoring und Evaluation

 

Ergebnisse / Wirkungen

  • Alle fünf Berufsbildungszentren sind eröffnet und bieten 16 Trainingsmaßnahmen an.
  • Acht Langzeitkurse (1-2 Jahre) und acht Kurzzeitkurse (2-3 Monate) wurden eingerichtet. 
  • Im Unterricht werden zusätzlich Englisch, Soft Skills und Computerkenntnisse vermittelt. 
  • Die ersten Absolventen fanden Arbeit und erhalten einen Tageslohn von 400-500 Indische Rupee (ca. 6-7 Euro) (zum Vergleich: ohne Zertifikat liegt der Verdienst bei ca. 150-200 Indische Rupee (ca. 2-3 Euro) pro Tag)

Kontakt

Sektorale Expertise