We respond to emergencies.
We build resilience to natural disasters.
We create sustainable prospects.

Immediate, preventive action against Ebola

More than 10,000 people have died in the recent Ebola outbreak in West Africa. With the help of international development organisations in Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone, GIZ has rehabilitated a hospital, equipped 50 health centres with solar power systems and provided more than 6,000 people in quarantine with food packages.

In the neighbouring states Mali and Côte d’Ivoire, GIZ – together with its implementing partners – has carried out comprehensive awareness-raising activities on the Ebola virus to prevent the disease from spreading further and to increase the resilience of the local Population.

Initial support for internally displaced People

A roof over their heads, clean drinking water and toilets – with measures like these, GIZ is improving the living conditions of refugees who have been displaced from their homes due to violent conflicts or serious natural disasters.

The UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) estimates the number of Afghan internally displaced persons to be more than 780,000. Their supply situation is insufficient and often worse than that of the local population.

In addition to the provision of basic infrastructure, the refugees also receive training in income-generating activities, and in areas like hygiene, peaceful conflict transformation, literacy and everyday mathematics. This helps strengthen their ability to help themselves.

The holistic approach of GIZ

Emergency response and recovery

Transitioning to long-term development

Crises and disasters threaten the livelihoods of millions of people around the world. In these acute emergencies GIZ helps alleviate the suffering of the afflicted population by meeting their basic needs in the immediate term, thus ensuring their survival. GIZ implements recovery projects to secure the livelihoods of particularly vulnerable people, and supports the transition to long-term and sustainable development.

Immediate support for long-term prospects

GIZ’s approach to crises and disasters is not just about responding after the event. It is based on proactive disaster risk management. We support the population, as well as state and civil society structures, in protecting themselves more effectively against the impacts of possible future disasters, and in adapting their living conditions to climate change. GIZ pursues a holistic approach that embraces emergency response, recovery and long-term development cooperation, thus connecting rapid assistance with sustainable prospects.

We have been or remain involved in projects for emergency and transitional assistance in over 20 countries. Examples include Afghanistan, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Haiti, Pakistan, Somalia, South Sudan and Bangladesh.

We'd be glad to hear from you

Would you like to find out more about GIZ’s emergency response and recovery work? Then please browse our microsite, or get in touch with us directly.

Wir helfen in akuten Notsituationen.
Wir stärken die Widerstandsfähigkeit bei Naturkatastrophen.
Wir schaffen nachhaltige Perspektiven.

Sofort und präventiv gegen Ebola

Seit Ausbruch der Ebola-Epidemie in Westafrika starben mehr als 10.000 Menschen an dem Virus. Die GIZ hat mittels Unterstützung von internationalen Hilfsorganisationen in Liberia, Guinea und Sierra Leone ein Krankenhaus rehabilitiert, 50 Gesundheitsstationen mit Solaranlagen ausgestattet und mehr als 6000 Menschen in Quarantäne mit Nahrungsmittelpaketen versorgt.

In den Anrainerstaaten Mali und Côte d’Ivoire hat die GIZ mit Implementierungspartnern umfassend über das Ebola-Virus und dessen Risiken informiert, um ein Ausbreiten der Krankheit zu verhindern und die Bevölkerung widerstandsfähiger zu machen.

Starthilfe für Binnenflüchtlinge

Ein Dach über dem Kopf, sauberes Wasser und Toiletten – damit versucht die GIZ die Lebensbedingungen von Binnenflüchtlingen, die aufgrund von Konflikten oder schweren Naturkatastrophen aus ihren Heimatorten vertrieben wurden, zu verbessern.

Das Flüchtlingshilfswerk der Vereinten Nationen (UNHCR) schätzte die Zahl der afghanischen Binnenflüchtlinge auf über 780.000. Ihre Versorgungslage insgesamt ist prekär und oftmals deutlich schlechter als die der ortsansässigen Bevölkerung.

Neben der Bereitstellung notwendiger Basisinfrastruktur erhalten die Flüchtlinge zudem Aus- und Fortbildungen zu einkommensgenerierenden Aktivitäten, Trainings in verschiedenen Bereichen wie Hygienevorsorge, friedliche Konfliktlösung, Alphabetisierung und Alltagsmathematik, um so zur Verbesserung ihrer Selbsthilfefähigkeit beizutragen.

 

Der holistische Ansatz der GIZ

Nothilfe und Wiederaufbau

Übergänge zu langfristiger Entwicklung

Krisen und Katastrophen bedrohen weltweit die Existenz von Millionen Menschen. In diesen akuten Notsituationen trägt die GIZ dazu bei, das Leid der Bevölkerung zu lindern, deren Grundbedürfnisse und so das Überleben unmittelbar zu sichern. Mithilfe von Wiederaufbauprojekten sichert sie die Lebensgrundlagen besonders bedürftiger Menschen und schafft Übergänge zu einer langfristigen und nachhaltigen Entwicklung.

Unmittelbare Hilfe für eine langfristige Perspektive

Die GIZ reagiert aber nicht nur auf Krisen und Katastrophen, sie setzt vielmehr auf Vorsorge. Die Bevölkerung, staatliche und zivilgesellschaftliche Strukturen werden dabei unterstützt, sich vor den Auswirkungen möglicher künftiger Katastrophen besser zu schützen und ihre Lebensbedingungen an den Klimawandel anzupassen. Die GIZ verfolgt einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz von Nothilfe, Wiederaufbau und langfristiger Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und verbindet so unmittelbare Hilfe mit nachhaltigen Perspektiven.

Mit Projekten zur Not- und Übergangshilfe waren und sind wir in über 20 Ländern tätig, beispielsweise in Afghanistan, der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, in Madagaskar, Somalia, Südsudan, Tschad und Bangladesch.

Kontaktieren Sie uns!

Sie interessieren sich für die Arbeit der GIZ im Bereich Nothilfe und Wiederaufbau? Dann informieren Sie sich im Portal oder kontaktieren Sie uns direkt.