GIZ Development Service

The Development Service of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH brings Germany’s contribution to international development cooperation straight to the people on site. We are always on the lookout for experienced and socially responsible individuals to help us roll out our activities around the world.


Development workers are deployed worldwide in our projects under the German Development Workers Act (Entwicklungshelfergesetz; EfhG). Another option in this context is to head abroad as a peace expert with GIZ as part of the Civil Peace Service (CPS).

 

Development workers advise partner organisations in Africa, Asia, Central Asia, Latin America and the Middle East on achieving their development objectives on their own initiative using a participatory approach. Currently about 850 experts are assigned as development workers on behalf of GIZ. They bring their professional expertise to government agencies and other organisations in partner countries, provide training and advisory services and work with our partners on designing projects. 

 

Development workers have completed their university or  vocational training and have a proven track record of at least two years in their particular field, during which time they have been able to apply and consolidate their expertise. They are eager to work together with their partners to achieve development goals by applying their expertise and experience in a different cultural context, their objective being to improve local people’s living conditions.

 

Through the Civil Peace Service programme, peace experts provide strategic and systematic advice and capacity development services for local stakeholders, enabling them to resolve conflicts peacefully, bring about societal changes and foster sustainable development based on human rights. After completing their assignments, development workers bring their experience back to European society, where they contribute to sustainable development and help cultivate a tolerant society.

 

As the only federal agency engaged in the German Government’s Development Service, GIZ maintains a neutral world view. Over a period spanning more than fifty years, GIZ's Development Service has gained a wealth of experience in planning, preparing and supporting development worker assignments. The pivotal aim has always been to get close to local people, to provide professional support based on experience and intercultural sensitivity, and to enable them to develop their own skills and abilities.
 

Development Service Website (in German)

Development service for socially committed individuals

With the aim of harnessing professional experience and technical expertise to help others, GIZ seconds development workers within the scope of German international cooperation projects and programmes. Development workers are often assigned to rural areas, where they can put their professional expertise to good use developing the capacities of local people and organisations. Development workers are prepared to engage with the local culture and language, and to work under customary conditions in the region. Assignments are for a fixed period, generally two years, with the option of extending for a total period of up to four years. Development workers shape change and pursue a holistic approach. Their high level of competence in implementing measures is paired with an understanding of advisory services delivered on the basis of partnership, and the willingness to keep learning themselves. They demonstrate great intercultural sensitivity and empathy in their work. From practice (in German only)

Peace experts in the Civil Peace Service

The idea behind the Civil Peace Service (ZFD) programme is to resolve conflicts peacefully and to strengthen civilian forces within society so that they are able to apply this approach. On behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the Civil Peace Service sends peace experts to crisis- and conflict-affected regions, where they work with local partner organisations to support peace processes.

GIZ is currently involved in the Civil Peace Service in 18 countries, with about 100 international experts and another 100 local experts. The peace experts support local non-governmental organisations and initiatives, state agencies and municipal authorities as well as national programmes and institutions under the provisions of the German Entwicklungshelfer-Gesetz (development workers act). They aim to change behaviour patterns, attitudes and structures to enable partners to deal with conflict in a non-violent way. GIZ’s Civil Peace Service brings together different stakeholders in dialogue, enabling them to network and building a bridge between the state and civil society.

Civil Peace Service (in German only)

Return and engagement for development

On their return to their own country, we help development workers reintegrate into society and working life. GIZ also encourages returning development workers to network among one another and with GIZ.
Development workers’ engagement does not end on their return: there are a great many ways of passing on the experience gained in the partner country so that it can be harnessed for sustainable development.

Network of former development workers (in German only) Further information (in German only)

Care, safety and security

As a state development service we are particularly concerned to ensure your safety and security during your assignment in the partner country, and to provide a high level of care. We will pay the social security contributions for you and your family, ensure that you are able to afford an appropriate standard of living, and pay a reintegration allowance on your return.

Before starting your assignment, you will complete a thorough preparatory phase conducted by highly qualified specialists at GIZ’s Academy for International Cooperation (AIZ). Our medical service will provide a full medical check-up before you leave and on your return and will also give you health care information and tips.

Development workers and their families are protected by a professional risk management system which minimises individual hazards and risks in crisis-affected countries. Experts monitor and analyse the situation, are in close contact with local embassies, issue security reports and warnings, and provide advice on safety and security precautions.

Benefits and requirements (in German only)

Entwicklungsdienst GIZ

Der Entwicklungsdienst der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH bringt den deutschen Beitrag zur internationalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu den Menschen vor Ort. Für unser weltweites Engagement suchen wir laufend berufserfahrene und sozial engagierte Menschen.

 

Auf Grundlage des Entwicklungshelfergesetzes (EfhG) entsenden wir Entwicklungshelfer*innen weltweit in unsere Projekte. Eine andere Möglichkeit ist es, als Friedensfachkraft des Zivilen Friedensdienstes (ZFD) mit der GIZ ins Ausland zu gehen.

 

Fachkräfte in der Entwicklungshilfe beraten Partnerorganisationen in Afrika, Asien, Zentralasien, Lateinamerika und Nahost dabei, ihre langfristigen Entwicklungsziele selbständig und partizipativ zu erreichen. Aktuell sind rund 850 Entwicklungshilfe-Fachkräfte für die GIZ im Einsatz. Sie bringen vor Ort ihre berufliche Expertise in staatliche und andere Organisationen der Partnerländer ein, bilden aus, beraten und gestalten Projekte gemeinsam mit den Partnerorganisationen.

 

Entwicklungshelfer*innen verfügen über eine abgeschlossene Berufsausbildung und haben ihre Fachkenntnisse in mindestens zwei Jahren Berufserfahrung erprobt und erweitert. Ihnen allen gemeinsam ist die Motivation, entwicklungspolitisch sinnvolle Arbeit mit den Partnern vor Ort zu leisten, ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrung in einen anderen kulturellen Kontext zur Verfügung zu stellen und dabei mitzuhelfen, die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen vor Ort zu verbessern.

 

Im Programm „Ziviler Friedensdienst“ beraten und stärken Friedensfachkräfte lokale Akteure systematisch und strategisch dabei, ihre Konflikte gewaltfrei auszutragen sowie gesellschaftliche Veränderungen und nachhaltige Entwicklung auf Grundlage der Menschenrechte zu gestalten. Nach ihrem Einsatz tragen die Fachkräfte in der Entwicklungshilfe ihre Erfahrungen in die europäische Gesellschaft und tragen auch auf diesem Weg zu nachhaltiger Entwicklung und einer toleranten Gesellschaft bei.

Die GIZ ist der einzige staatliche Träger des Entwicklungsdienstes der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und agiert als solcher weltanschaulich neutral. In mehr als 50 Jahren hat der Entsendedienst der GIZ umfassendes Know-how in der Planung, Vorbereitung und Betreuung von Entwicklungshilfeeinsätzen erworben. Im Mittelpunkt aller Aktivitäten stand und steht dabei stets das Ziel, eng mit den Menschen vor Ort in Kontakt zu stehen, sie professionell, mit Berufserfahrung und interkultureller Sensibilität zu unterstützen und ihre eigenen Fähigkeiten zu fördern.

Entwicklungsdienst für Menschen mit sozialem Engagement

Andere mit beruflicher Erfahrung und Fachwissen stärken: Die GIZ entsendet Entwicklungshelferinnen und Entwicklungshelfer im Rahmen von Vorhaben der deutschen internationalen Zusammenarbeit. Entwicklungshelfer werden oft in ländlichen Regionen eingesetzt, wo sie ihre Berufsexpertise gewinnbringend für die Entwicklung der Menschen und Organisationen vor Ort einbringen. Entwicklungshelfer sind bereit, sich auf die lokale Kultur und Sprache einzulassen und unter landesüblichen Bedingungen zu arbeiten. Die Einsätze erfolgen zeitlich befristet, meist für zwei Jahre mit der Möglichkeit der Verlängerung bis zu vier Jahren. Entwicklungshelfer gestalten Veränderungen und verfolgen einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz. Ihre hohe Umsetzungskompetenz ist gepaart mit einem partnerschaftlichen Beratungsverständnis und der Bereitschaft, selber Neues zu lernen. Daher agieren sie in ihrer Arbeit interkulturell sensibel und einfühlsam.

Aus der Praxis

Friedensfachkräfte im Zivilen Friedensdienst

Konflikte friedlich zu regeln und die zivilen Kräfte in der Gesellschaft dabei zu stärken: Das ist die Idee des Zivilen Friedensdienstes – ZFD. Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit entsendet das Konsortium ZFD Fachkräfte in Krisen- und Konfliktregionen, wo sie zusammen mit lokalen Partnerorganisationen Friedensprozesse unterstützen.

Die GIZ beteiligt sich mit rund 100 internationalen und ebenso vielen einheimischen Fachkräften in derzeit 18 Ländern am ZFD. Die Friedensfachkräfte unterstützen im Rahmen des Entwicklungshelfer-Gesetzes einheimische Nichtregierungsorganisationen und Initiativen, staatliche Stellen und Kommunalverwaltungen sowie nationale Programme und Institutionen. Sie arbeiten daran, Verhalten, Einstellungen und auch Strukturen langfristig in Richtung Konfliktfähigkeit zu verändern. Der ZFD der GIZ bringt verschiedene Akteure miteinander in Dialog und vernetzt sie. Dadurch übernimmt er eine Brückenfunktion zwischen Staat und Zivilgesellschaft.

Ziviler Friedensdienst

Rückkehr und entwicklungspolitisches Engagement

Nach ihrer Rückkehr ins Heimatland, unterstützen wir die Entwicklungshelfer bei ihrer sozialen und beruflichen Reintegration. Außerdem fördert die GIZ die Vernetzung von zurückgekehrten Entwicklungshelfern untereinander und mit der GIZ.
Das Engagement von Entwicklungshelfern endet nicht mit ihrer Rückkehr: Es gibt zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, die Erfahrungen aus dem Partnerland weiterzugeben und sich so weiterhin für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung einzusetzen.

Netzwerk ehemaliger Entwicklungshelfer/innen Weitere Informationen zur Rückkehr

Fürsorge und Sicherheit

Als staatlicher Entwicklungsdienst sind uns Ihre Sicherheit und die Fürsorge für Ihren Einsatz im Partnerland ein besonderes Anliegen. Wir übernehmen die soziale Sicherung für Sie und Ihre Familie, gewährleisten Ihren Lebensbedarf auf einem angemessenen Niveau und zahlen eine Wiedereingliederungsbeihilfe nach Ihrer Rückkehr.

Auf Ihren Einsatz werden Sie gründlich und qualifiziert in der Akademie für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (AIZ) der GIZ vorbereitet. Der Ärztliche Dienst führt einen intensiven Gesundheitscheck vor Ihrer Ausreise und nach Ihrer Rückkehr durch und vermittelt Hinweise zur Gesundheitsvorsorge.

Entwicklungshelfer und ihre Familienangehörigen werden durch ein professionelles Risikomanagementsystem geschützt, welches persönliche Gefahren und Risiken in Krisenländern minimiert. Fachleute beobachten und analysieren die Lage, stehen im engen Kontakt mit den Botschaften vor Ort, geben Sicherheitsmeldungen heraus und beraten zu Sicherheitsvorkehrungen.

Leistungen und Vorbereitungen