Information for applicants

We are delighted that you are interested in GIZ. Here you can find out more about the company, check out current vacancies, and apply directly online.

Who are we looking for?

Economists, engineers, humanities and arts graduates, geologists – the list goes on. We are always on the lookout for new staff from a very wide range of sectors, including, finance, taxation, agriculture, environmental policy, climate, energy, social protection, governance and democracy and (vocational) education and training.

A basic understanding of development policy, along with expertise in your field and advisory skills are important requirements in the fields in which we work. And as we operate in 130 countries around the globe, intercultural sensitivity is also indispensable. Our goal is for you to transfer your expertise to our partner countries.

Our experts and managers have a wide range of posts and functions worldwide. The fields in which we carry out our activities are more diverse than in almost any other sector. And the experts who work for us come from quite different cultural and technical backgrounds.

  • As a specialist or planning officer you will provide the technical expertise required to plan projects.
  • As a country manager you will coordinate the project portfolio within a partner country; you will be in close contact with the client or commissioning party.
  • As a project or programme manager or advisor you will work in a project in one of our partner countries, implementing measures jointly with the partner organisations.
  • In Germany we also have more traditional posts on offer, including office managers, IT specialists, administrative officers, human resources officers, financial experts and many more.

What makes GIZ special as an employer?

What is special about our work is that our staff support change processes directly in partner countries. They are actively involved in delivering advisory services to governments and ministries.

Biodiversity, water, good governance, education, financial systems development, development-oriented emergency and transitional aid, and much, much more: the wide range of fields in which GIZ operates allows you to continuously develop your skills, and also gain experience outside your own specific field. The Academy for International Cooperation (AIZ) is GIZ’s training centre for international human resources development. The training facility in Bad Honnef offers a huge spectrum of training options. Regular courses, workshops and seminars give our staff the skills they need to tackle new challenges. Network meetings, mentoring schemes and coaching help staff develop professionally and at a personal level. Before staff leave Germany to take up an assignment in a partner country they attend thorough preparation courses – with modules on the country and culture, language and GIZ-specific aspects forming an integral part of their induction. Quite apart from the wide range of attractive job options, we also offer the chance to combine professional and family commitments. For assignments outside Germany in particular, it is important to us that your family is involved.



FURTHER INFORMATION

Informationen für Bewerber

Wir freuen uns, dass Sie sich für unser Unternehmen interessieren. Hier erfahren Sie mehr Wissenswertes zur GIZ, können die aktuellen Stellenausschreibungen einsehen und sich direkt online bewerben.

Wen suchen wir?

Ob Wirtschaftswissenschaftler, Ingenieure, Geisteswissenschaftler oder Geologen – wir sind stets auf der Suche nach neuen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern aus verschiedensten Bereichen, wie z.B. Finanzen, Steuern, Agrarwirtschaft, Umweltpolitik, Klima, Energie, Soziale Sicherung, Staat und Demokratie oder (Berufliche) Bildung.

Entwicklungspolitisches Grundverständnis, gepaart mit Fachexpertise und Beratungskompetenz sind wichtige Voraussetzungen für unsere Tätigkeitsfelder. Interkulturelle Sensibilität ist an den 130 weltweiten Standorten unabdingbar. Unser Ziel ist es, dass Sie Ihr Fachwissen in unsere Partnerländer übertragen.

Unsere Fach- und Führungskräfte sind weltweit in verschiedenen Funktionen und Positionen eingesetzt. Die Arbeitsfelder sind so vielseitig und unterschiedlich wie in kaum einer anderen Branche. Expertinnen und Experten mit ganz unterschiedlichen kulturellen und fachlichen Hintergründen sind für die GIZ aktiv.

  • Als Fachkonzeptionist/in bzw. Fachplaner/in liefern Sie die fachliche Expertise für die Konzeption der Projekte.
  • Als Ländermanager/in koordinieren Sie das Projektportfolio in einem Land und stehen mit den Auftraggebern in engem Kontakt.
  • Als Projektleiter/in, Programmleiter/in oder Berater/in sind Sie vor Ort in einem Projekt tätig und setzen dieses, gemeinsam mit dem Partner um.
  • In Deutschland besetzen wir klassisch strukturelle Positionen als z.B. Office Manager, IT Spezialist, Sachbearbeiter, Referent im Personal- und Sozialbereich, Finanzexperte und viele Positionen mehr.

Was macht die GIZ als Arbeitgeber aus?

Die Besonderheit unserer Arbeit ist, dass unsere Mitarbeiter vor Ort in den Partnerländern Veränderungsprozesse begleiten und unterstützen. Sie sind aktiv in die Beratung von Regierungen und Ministerien eingebunden.

Biodiversität, Wasser, Gute Regierungsführung, Bildung, Finanzsystementwicklung, entwicklungsorientierte Not- und Übergangshilfe und vieles mehr: Die vielfältigen Aufgabengebiete bei der GIZ. machen es möglich, sich fortwährend weiterzuentwickeln und, über den Tellerrand hinaus, Erfahrungen in anderen Themenfeldern zu sammeln. Die Akademie für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (AIZ) ist das Trainingszentrum für Internationale Personalentwicklung der GIZ. Das Schulungszentrum in Bad Honnef bietet verschiedenste Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten an. Regelmäßige Fortbildungen, Workshops und Seminare qualifizieren unsere Mitarbeiter für neue Herausforderungen. Netzwerktreffen, Lernpatenschaften und Coaching unterstützen die berufliche und persönliche Entwicklung. Vor jedem Auslandseinsatz bereiten wir unsere Mitarbeiter umfassend vor – Länderkunde, Sprachkurse und GIZ-Fachwissen sind wesentliche Bestandteile der Einarbeitung. Neben der attraktiven Aufgabenvielfalt und der großen Entscheidungs- und Handlungsspielräume bietet die GIZ die Möglichkeit, Beruf und Familie zu vereinbaren. Gerade bei einem Auslandseinsatz ist es uns wichtig, dass Ihre Familie einbezogen wird.

Weitere Informationen