© GIZ

Working for GIZ abroad

As an employee of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, you will be working in locations around the world and helping to shape a future worth living. Assignments abroad are the core of GIZ’s work. Get involved in helping to secure long-term improvements in living conditions worldwide. You will cooperate directly with partner organisations, make international contacts and be actively involved in implementing planned projects.

GIZ operates in more than 120 countries around the world. Would you like to make practical use of your communication skills in a different cultural environment? Would you like to put your negotiating skills to use in advising ambitious partner organisations locally? Or perhaps you would like to use your project management or finance skills at international level?

If so, come and work for GIZ abroad. You will gain new experiences and inspiration that will stay with you for your whole life. The wide range of areas in which GIZ operates also means you can go on developing your skills and gain experience in new areas. You will have the option to move between assignments in Germany and those abroad, helping GIZ to keep developing as a company.

And an assignment abroad will not just benefit you: your family can also have the experience of living in another country and developing their intercultural skills.

Are you interested in working for GIZ abroad? We look forward to receiving your application.  

What conditions do I need to meet to work for GIZ abroad?

The conditions vary from job to job: you can find a detailed job specification in individual job advertisements. For most positions, you will need to submit a full application comprising a CV and a covering letter.

You can work for GIZ abroad in a range of areas, including in policy, specialist or organisational advisory roles as part of project implementation or administration of a country office. What all these roles have in common is that you will be able to apply your expertise directly in a local setting.

What benefits will I enjoy if I work for GIZ abroad?

  • You will receive 13 monthly salary payments and a foreign service premium and be entitled to 30 days’ leave a year (for full-time employees).
  • GIZ also operates a company pension scheme, and you will have access to our employee savings scheme.
  • You will enjoy flexible working hours and mobile working arrangements, both abroad and in Germany, to enable you to balance your career and family responsibilities.
  • GIZ will provide comprehensive support with moving to and resettling in another country, including a relocation allowance and two days’ special leave.
  • You will receive well thought out and clearly structured pre-departure preparation for your assignment abroad. This includes language training and briefing on the country in which you will be working. And of course, we also serve the needs of your partner and any children who may be accompanying you.
  • We will reimburse the cost of each journey you and your family members make from your country of assignment to your home country (one trip per completed year abroad).
     

The following video provides further information about the benefits you will enjoy as a GIZ employee abroad:

Benefits package abroad – what Martin has to say

Accompanying partners (MAPs)

Helping seconded staff to combine their career with family and care responsibilities is particularly important to us. We know that supporting families is often crucial to someone’s decision to accept an assignment abroad. GIZ therefore supports partners with making preparations and overcoming any obstacles before, during and after their outward journey, ensuring that their experience abroad is a positive one. The MAP Desk is the core of our information and support services in relation to employment and benefits.

What benefits will I enjoy as an MAP?

  • The GIZ MAP Desk will provide support and answer any questions you may have right from the outset.
  • We provide medical screening and, on request, cover under GIZ’s group insurance schemes.
  • You will have the opportunity to participate in preparatory courses run by the Academy for International Cooperation (AIZ), including courses on the culture and language of your country of assignment, guidance on employment in the country, and help with travelling with children to your destination.
  • You will be included in the calculation of some benefits for seconded staff (such as relocation services, home leave allowances, transport costs and removal allowances).
     

Are you an MAP? Would you like further information? Please contact the MAP Desk by emailing map@giz.de

Further information

Download

© GIZ

Im Ausland für die GIZ arbeiten

Als Mitarbeiter*in der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH engagieren Sie sich weltweit für eine lebenswerte Zukunft. Der Auslandseinsatz ist das Herzstück der Arbeit der GIZ. Füllen Sie es mit Leben und tragen Sie dazu bei, die Lebensbedingungen vor Ort dauerhaft zu verbessern. Dabei arbeiten Sie direkt mit den Partnerorganisationen zusammen, knüpfen internationale Kontakte und setzen Projektpläne unmittelbar in die Tat um.

Die GIZ ist weltweit in über 120 Ländern tätig. Möchten Sie Ihre Kommunikationsfähigkeiten in fremden Kulturkreisen praktisch umsetzen? Oder Ihr Verhandlungsgeschick in der fachlichen Beratung von anspruchsvollen Partnerorganisationen vor Ort anwenden? Oder möchten Sie Ihre Kenntnisse im Projektmanagement oder im Finanzwesen auf internationaler Ebene einbringen?

Dann arbeiten Sie für uns im Ausland. Sie sammeln neue Erfahrungen und erhalten zahlreiche Impulse, die Sie ein Leben lang begleiten. Die vielfältigen Aufgabengebiete der GIZ ermöglichen es überdies, sich fortwährend weiterzuentwickeln und Erfahrungen in neuen Themenfeldern zu sammeln. Mit möglichen Wechseln zwischen In- und Ausland tragen Sie außerdem zur stetigen Weiterentwicklung der GIZ als Unternehmen bei.  

Aber nicht nur Sie gewinnen durch einen Auslandseinsatz, sondern auch Ihre Familienangehörigen können ein neues Land kennenlernen und ihre interkulturelle Kompetenzen stärken.

Sie haben Interesse an einem Auslandseinsatz? Dann freuen wir uns auf Ihre Bewerbung.

Welche Voraussetzungen sollte ich für eine Stelle im Ausland erfüllen?

Je nach gewünschter Position gibt es unterschiedliche Voraussetzungen, die Sie den jeweiligen Stellenausschreibungen entnehmen können. Generell gilt, dass eine Bewerbung nur mit Lebenslauf und Anschreiben angenommen werden kann.

Grundsätzlich können Sie in der Politik-, Fach- oder Organisationsberatung für die GIZ im Ausland arbeiten. Dies ist in der Projektdurchführung oder in der Verwaltung eines Landesbüros möglich. Bei allen Positionen gilt: Sie können Ihre Expertise direkt am Ort des Geschehens einbringen.

Welche Leistungen erhalte ich als Mitarbeiter*in der GIZ im Auslandseinsatz?

  • Sie erhalten 13 Monatsgehälter und eine zusätzliche Auslandszulage sowie 30 Tage Urlaub pro Jahr (bei einer Vollzeitstelle).
  • Weiterhin unterstützt die GIZ Sie durch eine betriebliche Altersvorsorge und Sie können vermögenswirksame Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen.
  • Sie haben flexible Arbeitszeiten und können grundsätzlich auch am Einsatzort mobil arbeiten, so dass Beruf und Familie ideal vereinbart werden können.
  • Sie bekommen rund ums Thema Umzug und Umsiedelung ins Ausland umfassende Unterstützung (zum Beispiel eine Umzugspauschale und zwei Tage Sonderurlaub).
  • Sie erhalten eine gut durchdachte und strukturierte Ausreisevorbereitung. Sie können beispielsweise Sprachkurse oder Kurse zur Landeskunde besuchen. Auch die Bedürfnisse von eventuell mitausreisenden Kindern und Partner*innen werden berücksichtigt.
  • Reisen vom Einsatzort ins Heimatland werden für Sie und Ihre Familienmitglieder individuell vergütet (für jedes volle Auslandsjahr).

Weitere Informationen zu den Leistungen der GIZ, die als Mitarbeiter*in im Ausland bekommen können, sehen Sie im folgenden Video: 

Leistungspaket im Ausland - Martin berichtet

Mitausreisende Partner*innen (MAP)

Die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie ist uns auch bei unseren Auslandsmitarbeiter*innen besonders wichtig. Denn ob ein Auslandseinsatz wirklich in Frage kommt, hängt oftmals von den Rahmenbedingungen für die Familie ab. Das wissen wir und unterstützen deshalb Ihre Partner*in bei der Vorbereitung und etwaigen Hürden: Vor, während und nach der Ausreise – für eine gute Zeit im Ausland. Dreh- und Angelpunkt für das Informations- und Unterstützungsangebot hinsichtlich Leistungen und Beschäftigung ist der MAP Desk.

Welche Leistungen erhalte ich als MAP? 

  • Unterstützung vorab durch den MAP Desk der GIZ, um Fragen frühzeitig zu beantworten.
  • Medizinische Vorabuntersuchungen und bei Wunsch Aufnahme in Gruppentarifverträge der GIZ bei Versicherungen.
  • Teilnahme an Ausreisevorbereitungskursen der Akademie für internationale Zusammenarbeit (AIZ) – hier unter anderem Kurse zu Landeskunde und Sprachkurse, Orientierung zu Beschäftigung im Einsatzland und Ausreise mit Kindern.
  • Berücksichtigung bei Berechnung von bestimmten Leistungen für Auslandsmitarbeiter*innen der GIZ (zum Beispiel Relocation Service, Heimaturlaubsleistungen, Transportkosten- und Umzugspauschale)

Sie sind MAP und möchten weitere Informationen? Dann kontaktieren Sie gerne den MAP Desk unter map@giz.de

Weitere Informationen

Download