© GIZ / Asja Caspari

Four Questions for Andrea von Rauch

Ms von Rauch, you are the Director of the Academy. What is special about your Academy for International Cooperation?

Social change for sustainable development needs people who are both capable and accountable. That is where we, as the academy of GIZ, come in. We offer training that builds the capacities of experts and managers in international cooperation and we gear our courses to current trends. For example, you can learn about the 2030 Agenda from us, or the green economy. Or about the question of how to make transformation processes successful when they involve people from different cultures. In addition, we prepare field staff for their assignments in 120 countries, including security training, country analyses and intercultural communication.

Frau von Rauch © GIZ/Asja Caspari

How do the participants benefit from the AIZ?

They benefit firstly from the comprehensive know-how at the Academy on all aspects of learning. Our concept builds on 50 years of experience with learning in international cooperation and we have an extensive network of excellent trainers. Furthermore, the participants benefit from the practical experience of GIZ. More than 19,000 employees in over 120 countries pass their knowledge on to our Academy – the things they know, the skills they have, and the solutions that have brought positive changes in practice.

What is special about the learning opportunities at the AIZ?

We pass on more than just knowledge. We want people to develop their capabilities. Alongside sector knowledge, the experts and managers in international cooperation need strategies for working successfully with people with different technical, institutional or cultural viewpoints and interests, in order to reach common goals. For instance, we prepare the participants for their work in intercultural contexts and in crises, and practise dealing with stressful situations. But our portfolio also covers leadership skills, negotiation and communication.
We always pay attention to the three aspects that together make up people’s competencies. First of all that means their knowledge, secondly their skills – that is, their actions – and thirdly their attitudes. We enable our participants to reflect on their attitudes and develop them – to obtain an orientation they can always rely on, regardless of how varied the demands made of them are.

How do people learn in the AIZ?

Learning should be as practically relevant and as individual as possible. We regard ourselves as an academy that learns, and we draw on the latest trends. Of course, that also means that, alongside our face-to-face seminars, we are increasingly using virtual learning formats and offer training courses on digital topics. In addition, we are continuously developing our learning strategy. It is well known that people do by far the greater part of their learning while working independently and through exchanges with colleagues. For us, this means that during our training courses we promote dialogue between the participants and support them in learning from one another. To do this, we need an inspiring environment of trust. That is what we offer them.

Workshop © GIZ/Asja Caspari © GIZ / Asja Caspari

Vier Fragen an Andrea von Rauch

Frau von Rauch, Sie sind Leiterin der Akademie: Was macht Ihre Akademie für Internationale Zusammenarbeit aus?

Gesellschaftliche Veränderung für nachhaltige Entwicklung braucht tatkräftige und eigenverantwortliche Menschen. Genau darauf richten wir – als Akademie der GIZ – uns aus: Unser Angebot stärkt Fach- und Führungskräfte in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit und orientiert sich an aktuellen Trends. Sie können bei uns beispielsweise etwas über die Agenda 2030 und über Green Economy lernen. Oder über die Frage, wie sich Transformationsprozesse mit Menschen unterschiedlicher Kulturen erfolgreich gestalten lassen. Außerdem bereiten wir auf Auslandseinsätze in 120 Ländern vor, unter anderem durch Sicherheitstrainings, Landesanalysen und interkulturelle Kommunikationstrainings.

© GIZ/Asja Caspari

Wovon profitieren die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer bei der AIZ?

Sie profitieren zum einen vom umfassenden Know-how der Akademie rund um das Thema Lernen. Unser Konzept basiert auf 50 Jahren Erfahrung mit Lernangeboten in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit und wir verfügen über ein großes Netzwerk hervorragender Trainerinnen und Trainer. Außerdem profitieren die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer von der praktischen Erfahrung der GIZ. Mehr als 19.000 Beschäftigte in mehr als 120 Ländern geben an unsere Akademie weiter, was sie wissen, was sie können und welche Lösungen in der Praxis zu positiven Veränderungen geführt haben.

Was ist das Besondere am Lernangebot der AIZ?

Wir vermitteln mehr als nur Wissen, uns geht es um Kompetenzentwicklung. Neben Fachwissen brauchen Fach- und Führungskräfte in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit Strategien, wie man mit Menschen mit verschiedenen fachlichen, institutionellen oder kulturellen Blickwinkeln und Interessen erfolgreich auf gemeinsame Ziele hinarbeiten kann. Wir bereiten unsere Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern beispielsweise auf die Arbeit im interkulturellen Rahmen und in Krisenkontexten vor und üben den Umgang mit belastenden Situationen. Aber auch Leadership-, Verhandlungs- und Kommunikationstrainings gehören zu unserem Angebot.

Dabei betrachten wir stets den Dreiklang, aus dem sich die Kompetenzen eines Menschen zusammensetzen. Das sind erstens sein Wissen, zweitens sein Können – also sein Handeln – und drittens seine Haltung. Wir ermöglichen unseren Teilnehmern, ihre Haltung zu reflektieren und weiter zu entwickeln – zu einer Orientierung, auf die sie sich immer verlassen können, egal wie divers die Anforderungen sind, die an sie gestellt werden.

Wie wird in der AIZ gelernt?

So praxisnah und individuell wie möglich. Wir sehen uns als lernende Akademie und greifen aktuelle Trends auf. Dazu gehört natürlich, dass wir neben unseren Präsenz-Seminaren zunehmend virtuelle Lernformate und Training zu digitalen Themen anbieten. Auch unser Lernkonzept entwickeln wir stetig weiter: Es ist bekannt, dass Menschen ganz überwiegend beim eigenständigen Arbeiten und durch den Austausch mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen lernen. Für uns heißt das, in unseren Trainings den Dialog zwischen den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern zu fördern und sie zu unterstützen auch gegenseitig voneinander zu lernen. Dafür brauchen sie eine vertrauensvolle und inspirierende Umgebung. Wir bieten sie ihnen.