© GIZ / Asja Caspari

MIA – Media and Information Centre

The Academy’s Media and Information Centre helps you get the information you need and keeps a wide range of current media at your disposal – letting you focus on your work as an expert or manager in international cooperation.

Our professional information and media management ensures that key learning materials are available as and when you need them on almost all topics in GIZ’s training portfolios.

You search – we help! MIA services at a glance

You search – we help! MIA services at a glance

We search for you

As a participant in one of our courses, you can ask us to do some research. We’ll do the research for you – tailored to your needs. Just send us your request by email.

For participants on the AIZ’s training courses we provide specially selected sources of information in our virtual media box. 

We are also happy to support you and explain how to use the virtual media box.

You can search through all our materials

You can browse through more than 35,000 media held by the MIA, call up specific information, or get background details about specific topics. We have many different media available to help you, such as books and e-books, journals and e-journals, brochures, DVDs, audio CDs and GIZ publications. At our site in Röttgen you can visit our reference library in person. You can research and access the media online through the media and information portal.

We are happy to advise you on information management: how to search, find and compile what you want, more quickly

There are many different ways of systematically obtaining, selecting, structuring and compiling information. We will find a solution suitable for you. 

  • Research advice: Are you a course participant and your research is not giving you the results you want? Is there too little information… or maybe even too much? We will support you in searching, compiling and evaluating the information.
  • Learning resource management: Are you a trainer or a participant on an AIZ training course and would like to use existing training materials? Do you want both conventional and electronic materials? Please contact us.
  • Advice on (using) media: Do you have a collection of media at your workplace and you still cannot find the necessary information? Would you like to expand these materials by adding online media? Do you need to manage all of this, but without a lot of extra work? Just ask us and we’ll be happy to advise!

We can show you the MIA

Please follow us – we’ll show you round the MIA. Take a guided tour in a group or on your own, to learn what we have available and what there is on site. You will find our media stocks distributed throughout the building, thematically allocated to the interactive learning stations.

We offer more than 35,000 different media for the training courses at the AIZ.

  • Books, e-books, journals and e-journals
  • Maps, music and films
  • Information about particular countries
  • Development-policy documents
  • Learning materials for specific courses
  • Computer-aided learning programmes

You can use our online services

  • Here, you can find a lists of our literature and media: http://mia.giz.de
  • Here, you can find the virtual media box with your electronic materials, which have been created or collected especially for your AIZ training course:  www.giz.de/vmbox 

Dr. Olga Gabrielyan (language trainer for Russian and Ukrainian): ‘The staff at the Media and Information Centre work in a way that is relevant, competent and also open, friendly and relaxed. The whole team is on board with their heart and soul!’

MIA © GIZ / Asja Caspari © GIZ / Asja Caspari

MIA – das Medien- und Informationszentrum

Damit Sie die volle Aufmerksamkeit auf Ihre Aufgaben als Fach- und Führungskraft in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit richten können, unterstützt Sie das Medien- und Informationszentrum der Akademie in der Informationsbeschaffung und hält ein breites Spektrum an aktuellen Medien vor. 

Mit unserem professionellen Informations- und Medienmanagement stellen wir sicher, dass zu fast allen Themen des GIZ-Weiterbildungsportfolios zentrale Lernmaterialien bedarfsgerecht und zur rechten Zeit für Sie verfügbar ist.

Ihre Suche – unsere Hilfe! Die MIA-Services im Überblick:

Wir suchen für Sie

Als Kursteilnehmer beauftragen Sie uns mit einer Recherche. Wir recherchieren für Sie –angepasst an Ihren Bedarf. Schicken Sie uns Ihre Anfrage per Mail.

Für die Teilnehmer der Weiterbildungskurse der AIZ stellen wir speziell ausgewählte Informationsquellen in unserer Virtuellen Medienbox bereit. 

Gerne bieten wir Ihnen auch Unterstützung und Einweisung in die Virtuelle Medienbox an.

Sie suchen in unserem Angebot

In den mehr als 35 000 Medien des MIA können Sie eigenständig stöbern, gezielt Informationen nachschlagen oder sich Hintergrundwissen zu speziellen Themen aneignen. Dafür stehen Ihnen Bücher und eBooks, Zeitschriften und eJournals, Broschüren, DVDs, Audio-CDs und GIZ-Publikationen zur Verfügung. An unserem Standort in Röttgen haben Sie Zugriff auf unseren Präsenzbestand. Über das Medien- und Informationsportal sind die Medien online recherchier- und verfügbar.

Wir beraten Sie beim Informationsmanagement: Richtig suchen – schneller finden, besser bereitstellen

Es gibt vielfältige Formen, Informationen systematisch zu beschaffen, auszuwählen, zu strukturieren und bereitzustellen.  Wir finden eine zu Ihnen passende Lösung. 

  • Rechercheberatung: Sie sind Kursteilnehmer und Ihre Recherche liefert nicht die gewünschten Ergebnisse? Es gibt zu wenig oder gar zu viel an Informationen? Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Suche, der Aufbereitung und Bewertung von Informationen.
  • Lernmittelmanagement: Sie sind Trainer oder Teilnehmer der AIZ-Weiterbildungsangebote und möchten vorhandene Trainingsmaterialien nutzen? Sie wünschen konventionelle und digitale Angebote? Sprechen Sie uns an.
  • Medien(-einsatz)beratung. Sie haben eine Mediensammlung in ihrem Arbeitsbereich und finden trotzdem nicht die benötigten Informationen? Sie würden diese gerne durch Online-Angebote erweitern? All dies muss zudem verwaltet werden … Geht das ohne großen Aufwand? Fragen Sie uns, wir beraten Sie gerne!

Wir zeigen Ihnen das MIA

Bitte folgen Sie uns, wir stellen Ihnen das MIA vor. Nutzen Sie unsere Gruppen- oder Einzelführungen, die Ihnen unseren Bestand und unser Haus näherbringen. Über das Gebäude verteilt finden Sie unsere Medien-Bestände, die den interaktiven Lernstationen thematisch zugeordnet sind: 

Wir bieten mehr als 35.000 unterschiedliche Medien zum Fortbildungsangebot der AIZ.

  • Bücher, eBooks, Zeitschriften und eJournals
  • Landkarten, Musik und Filme
  • landeskundliche Informationen
  • entwicklungspolitische Dokumente
  • kursspezifische Lernmaterialien
  • EDV-gestützte Lernprogramme

Sie nutzen unsere Online-Services

  • Unseren Literatur- und Medienbestand finden Sie unter: http://mia.giz.de
  • Die virtuelle Medienbox mit Ihren elektronischen Materialien, die im Rahmen Ihres AIZ-Trainings erstellt oder gesammelt wurden finden Sie hier: www.giz.de/vmbox 

Dr. Olga Gabrielyan (Sprachtrainerin für Russische und Ukrainische Sprache): „Sachlich, kompetent und dazu noch offen, freundlich und entspannt, so arbeiten die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Medien- und Informationszentrums. Das ganze Team ist mit Herz und Verstand bei der Sache!“